Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Academic Staff Committee

Jump down to MembershipMembership
Jump down to Terms of ReferenceTerms of Reference
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to SecretariatSecretariat
Jump down to MeetingsMeetings

Membership 2021/22

Chair, the Vice-Chancellor

Professor Stuart Croft

The Provost

Professor Christine Ennew

Fourteen Professors appointed by the Senate, four from each of the Faculties of Arts and Social Sciences, and six from the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Medicine

Professor Pierre-Philippe Fraiture (Arts)

Professor Tim Lockley (Arts)

Professor Rachel Moseley (Arts)

Professor Penny Roberts (Arts)

Professor Barbel Finkenstadt (Science, Engineering & Medicine)

Professor L Frigerio (Science, Engineering & Medicine)

Professor David Leadley (Science, Engineering & Medicine)

Professor Steven Maggs (Science, Engineering & Medicine)

Professor Ponnusamy Saravanan (Science, Engineering & Medicine)

Professor Kate Seers (Science, Engineering & Medicine)

Professor Laura Chamberlain (Social Sciences)

Professor Juanita Elias (Social Sciences)

Professor John Solomos (Social Sciences)

Professor Nick Vaughan-Williams (Social Sciences)

Return to top

Terms of Reference

The Committee is required, under Regulation 4 to:

(a) "conduct annually a review of academic staff (in all grades below the level of Professor)”;

(b) To consider recommendations for:

(i) Confirmation of the appointment of academic staff to Associate Professor on satisfactory completion of the period of probation;
(ii) Promotion to Reader;
(iii) Promotion to Teaching Fellow and Senior Teaching Fellow;
(iv) Promotion to Associate Professor – teaching focussed;
(v) Promotion to Research Fellow and Senior Research Fellow;
(vi) Promotion to Associate Professor – research focussed.

(c) To consider from time to time specific issues concerned with the employment of academic staff;

(d) To produce a report to the Senate of decisions taken by the Committee, and to make recommendations to the Senate as appropriate.

Return to top

Reporting Structure

The Academic Staff Committee reports to the Senate.

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.

Return to top


Secretary: Rachel Sandby-Thomas, Registrar

Assistant Secretary: Karen Terry Weymouth (Karen dot Terry-Weymouth at warwick dot ac dot uk)

Papers for consideration by the Academic Staff Committee should be submitted to the Assistant Secretary two weeks in advance of the meeting at which they are to be considered.

Return to top


Dates of meetings of the Academic Staff Committee can be found within the University Committee Timetable.

Return to top