Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Faculty Education Committee (Science, Engineering and Medicine)

Jump down to MembershipMembership
Jump down to Reporting Structure
Terms of Reference
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to SecretariatSecretariat
Jump down to MeetingsMeetings

Membership 2022/23


Professor David Davies

Deputy Chairs

Dr Nikola Chmel

Dr Daniel Franklin

Representatives from each department of the Faculty

Dr Nikola Chmel (Chemistry)

Dr Tom Ritchie (Chemistry)

Dr James Archbold (Computer Science)

Professor Till Bretschneider (Computer Science)

Dr Neil Evans (Engineering)

Professor Georgia Kremmyda (Engineering)

Professor Gary Bending (Life Sciences)

Dr Daniel Franklin (Life Sciences)

Professor Dmitriy Rumynin (Mathematics)

Dr Dave Wood (Mathematics)

Dr Nick d'Ambrumenil (Physics)

Dr Michael Pounds (Physics)

Dr Adrian von Muhlenen (Psychology)

Dr Claudie Fox (Psychology)

Dr Martyn Parker (Statistics)

Dr Dario Spano (Statistics)

Professor Steve Maggs (WMG)

Professor Dan Nunan (WMG)

Dr Lucy Hammond (WMS)

Professor Lesley Roberts (WMS)

Undergraduate student from the Faculty

Thomas Hart (Mathematics)

Undergraduate student from the Faculty


Postgraduate taught student from the Faculty

Tauqueer Akhtar (WMG)

Postgraduate research student from the Faculty


One representative from each of the other Faculties

Dr Jessica Savage (Arts)

Professor Cagatay Turkay (Social Sciences)

Faculty Senior Tutor

Dr Gavin Schwartz-Leeper

In attendance

Dr Jianhua Yang / Dr Gemma Gray, Faculty Student Engagement Coordinators (role-share)

Amanda Bishop, Faculty Widening Participation Coordinator

Return to top

Terms of Reference

(a) To consider Faculty-level implementation of the University Education Strategy

(b) To work with the Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Deputy Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Chairs of the Boards of the Faculties, Academic Directors and others to develop Faculty-level approaches to key themes such as Employability, Assessment, Joint Degrees, Feedback and other strategic and topical Education matters

(c) To develop and share best practice, enabling all departments to learn from the experience of the best across a range of areas of practice

(d) To make recommendations to the Board of the Faculty in relation to the development of Education policy and practice

(e) To consider departmental progress towards enhancing the student experience, including as recognised in sector metrics

(f) To contribute to ensuring that Faculty-level education provision remains cutting edge and attractive in a competitive marketplace

(g) To advise and report to the Board of the Faculty on all matters relating to the organisation of teaching including curricula, assessment, examinations and wider student experience

(h) To consider periodic reports from Faculty Education Chairs (appointed to represent the Faculty on examination PRPs and appeals committees Investigating Committees; Continuation of Registration Committees and to approve requests from students for unusual options/variations to curricula/variations to methods of assessment and reports from examiners on research theses) on issues arising for broader education strategy

(i) To discharge the above responsibilities across all levels of study

Reporting Structure

The Faculty Education Committee (Science) reports to the Faculty Board (Science, Engineering and Medicine).

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.


Secretary: Craig Franklin, Senior Policy Advisor (Education), EPQ
SEMEducationCommittee at warwick dot ac dot uk

Assistant Secretary: Jodie Wallington, Policy Advisor (Curriculum and Partnerships), EPQ

Papers for consideration by the Faculty Education Committee should be submitted to the Secretary at SEMEducationCommittee at warwick dot ac dot uk no later than four weeks prior to the meeting at which they are to be considered. Circulation of papers will be one week prior to the meeting.


Dates of meetings of the Faculty Education Committee can be found within the University Committee Timetable.

Click here to access minutes of previous meetings.