Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Honorary Degrees Committee

Jump down to MembershipMembership
Jump down to Terms of ReferenceTerms of Reference
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to SecretariatSecretariat
Jump down to MeetingsMeetings

Restricted area for Honorary Degrees Committee Members

Membership 2021/2022

The Chair of Council (Chair)

David Normington

The Vice-Chancellor and President

Professor Stuart Croft

The Provost Professor Christine Ennew

One Pro-Vice-Chancellor or nominated Deputy, appointed by the Vice-Chancellor and President

Professor David Leadley

The Vice-Provosts and Chairs of the Faculties of Arts, Social Sciences and Science, Engineering and Medicine

Professor Lorenzo Frigerio

Professor Penny Roberts

Professor Nick Vaughan-Williams

Two independent members of the Council

Yewande Akinola

Dr Deborah Keith

The Director of Development

Matt Ferguson

In attendance:

Rachel Sandby-Thomas, Registrar

Sharon Tuersley, Secretary to Council

Sarah Wall, Executive Officer

Return to Top

Terms of Reference

  1. To report to the Senate and the Council on an annual basis the progress for those who have been invited to receive an Honorary Degree.

To approve:

  1. On behalf of the Senate, anyone whom it proposes to confer an honorary degree on.
  2. On behalf of the Senate, anyone whom it proposes to confer a Benefactor’s Medal on.

To consider and recommend:

  1. Anyone whom it proposes to confer the Chancellor’s Medal on to the Chancellor.
  2. In exceptional circumstances only review, any award which, on receipt of new information, would have potentially affected the original decision. The review will adhere to the process for the revocation of Honorary Degrees and the Committee will make a recommendation to the Vice-Chancellor, who, on behalf of the Senate, will decide whether to rescind the award.

To keep under review:

  1. The diversity of the nominations the Committee receives ensuring they are broadly representative of the public and appropriate to the interests of the University.

Return to Top

Reporting Structure and Procedures

The Honorary Degrees Committee reports to the Senate and the Council.

The procedures for the award of honorary degrees is set out in Ordinance 9.

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.

Return to Top


Secretary: Sharon Tuersley, Secretary to Council (S dot Tuersley at warwick dot ac dot uk or ext: 51957)

Assistant Secretary: Elizabeth Coyle, PA to Secretary to Council (warwickhongrads at warwick dot ac dot uk)

Papers for consideration by the Honorary Degrees Committee, including nominations for the award of honorary degrees, should be submitted to the Secretary two weeks in advance of the meeting at which they are to be considered.

Return to Top


Dates of meetings of the Honorary Degrees Committee can be found within the University Committee Timetable.