Please read our student and staff community guidance on COVID-19
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Nominations to represent the Assembly on the Senate (Summer 2020)

Nominations are invited for one academic member of the Assembly to serve as a member of the Senate for three year terms from 1 August 2020 - 31 July 2023.

What is the Assembly?

Full details on Assembly membership can be viewed here.

What is the Senate?

The Senate is the supreme academic authority and decision-making body of the University. The Senate derives its powers from the Statutes and Ordinances and primarily promotes the academic work of the University in both teaching and research. The Senate has oversight of the University’s academic Regulations governing the education and discipline of students. Key features of being an effective member of the Senate are illustrated in the diagram below and available in Word format here:

Nomination Process

You should have the support of (two) other members of the Assembly for your nomination and you should seek both a Proposer and Seconder for your nomination. Ask them each to email proposing and seconding your nomination.

To create a nomination, emails each sent separately from the proposer, the seconder and the nominee (confirming their consent to be nominated), should be sent to by the end of Friday 29 May 2020.

If more nominations than vacancies are received, then an electronic ballot will take place during the period 8 June – 21 June 2020.

Each nominee will be asked to provide a supporting statement by the end of Wednesday 3 June 2020. This statement must be no more than 300 words and tailored to the role of representing the Assembly on the Senate. The supporting statements from each nominee will be published on the ballot webpage for the duration of the election. Further information about the election process will be posted on Insite and emailed to all members of the Assembly on Monday 8 June 2020.

If you have any questions, please contact the Senate Team by email at or the Senate Assistant Secretary, Maureen McLaughlin, Director of Education Policy & Quality