Skip to main content

Widening Participation Committee

Jump down to MembershipMembership
Jump down to Terms of ReferenceTerms of Reference
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to SecretariatSecretariat
Jump down to MeetingsMeetings

Membership 2017/18

Chair, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Professor Christopher Hughes

Representative of the Faculty of Arts

Dr Rachel Moseley

Representative of the Faculty of Medicine

Professor Geraldine Hartshorne

Representative of the Faculty of Science

Professor Lorenzo Frigerio

Representative of the Faculty of Social Sciences

Professor Jeremy Smith

Academic Registrar

Dr Chris Twine

Director of Student Recruitment, Outreach and Admissions Service

Delyth Chambers

Director of the Centre for Lifelong Learning

Dr Fergus McKay

Director of Student Careers and Skills

Sue Bennett

Head of Widening Participation and Outreach Paul Blagburn (Secretary)
Head of Student Finance and Funding Teng Zhang
Head of Student Support and Wellbeing TBC
Students' Union Representative Liam Jackson

Development Representative


Strategic Planning and Analytics Representative


Warwick Foundation Studies Representative

Dr Ines Molinaro

Postgraduate Representative

Professor Colin Sparrow

Centre for Teacher Education Representative

Kate Ireland

Widening Participation Manager

Baljit Gill (Assistant Secretary)

Regional Engagement Lead

Kate Hughes

Widening Participation Research and Evaluation sub-group Chair


Student Success and Progression sub-group Chair


Access and Participation sub-group Chair

Paul Blagburn

Dean of Students

Professor Louise Gracia

Academic Director (Employability and Skills)

Professor Patrick Tissington

Institute for Advanced Teaching and Learning

Dr Nick Monk

Return to top

Terms of Reference

(a) To develop and implement the University’s strategy around widening participation for undergraduate and postgraduate provision

(b) To make recommendations to the Academic Resourcing Committee to secure the implementation of the University's widening participating strategy and access agreement

(c) To monitor the University’s progress towards its access agreement targets and other widening participation objectives

(d) To consider and review the progress of widening participation groups across the student lifecycle, including outcomes on access, student success and progression

(e) To review, consider and make recommendations on external policy documents connected to widening participation

(f) To receive reports on institutional widening participation programmes with a focus on monitoring, evaluation and impact outcomes

(g) To consider new innovative approaches to access and student success which reflect the University’s strategic priorities

(h) To provide guidance and strategic direction to WP sub-groups

(i) To consider the widest possible spectrum of issues impacting Widening Participation

(j) To provide a summary of progress and issues to the Education Committee and Senate on the strategic and operational responsibilities of the group.

Return to top

Reporting Structure

The Widening Participation Committee reports to the Education Committee.

Widening Participation work will be considered and discussed at the new Faculty Education Committees.

Widening Participation Sub-groups
There will be three WP sub-groups introduced which will facilitate and implement the University’s widening participation strategy and will include representation from academic departments and relevant professional service departments. These will report to the Committee on a termly basis. These groups will include:
1. Widening Participation and Access group
2. Student Success and Progression group
3. Widening Participation Research and Evaluation group
4. National Collaborative Outreach Programme Management Group (This is an externally funded project and is not a formal sub-group of the Widening Participation Committee, however some of its business will be reported when required.)

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.

Return to top


Secretary: Mr Paul Blagburn (P dot Blagburn at warwick dot ac dot uk).

Assistant Secretary: Baljit Gill

Papers for consideration by the Widening Participation Committee should be submitted to the Secretary two weeks in advance of the meeting at which they are to be considered.

Return to top


Dates of meetings of the Widening Participation Committee can be found within the University Committee Timetable.

Click here to access minutes of previous meetings.

Return to top

You may also wish to visit:

Widening Participation and Outreach webpages