Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Trade Unions

Joint Consultative Committee (JCC)

The Employee Relations team manages the University’s formal relationship with the recognised trade unions through the management of the Joint Consultative Committee (JCC).

The JCC is the formal forum whereby senior University management representatives meet with recognised trade union representatives once a term to discuss pertinent organisational issues.

The University recognises 3 trade unions for collective bargaining purposes. They are:

University Contact: Lee Cartwright - Estates, or Paul Allsopp - Estates, Interim Co-Chairs

University Contacts: Clare Rowan - Classics & Ancient History, or Gavin Schwartz-Leeper - Liberal Arts and Charlotte Heath-Kelly - Politics, UCU Co-Chairs

University Contact: Sam Parr , Education Group, Branch Secretary or Karen Markey , Estates, Branch Treasurer

All employees have a right to join a trade union and take part in its activities. Trade union subscriptions can be deducted directly from salaries/wages providing written authorisation is given.

Members of staff who are elected trade union representatives during their period of employment at the University are entitled to time off for trade union duties. Such time off is granted via the branch officers and HR with the agreement of local line managers.

Recognition Agreements

Recognition Agreements for trade unions can be accessed below:

UCULink opens in a new window

UnisonLink opens in a new window

UniteLink opens in a new window