Individual files and folders can be protected so that only people with shared permissions can sign in and access files. Note, however, that if you create a new folder within one that is shared, the new folder and any files you add to it are also shared because the permissions are inherited. To check permissions, select a folder or a file (via the checkbox next to it), then select Share in the menu. You see the current View, Change and Manage permissions on the right of the box that pops up. Select the red cross next to any of these permissions to remove them.
There is a distinction between sharing a file with a Warwick member and an external person. If you share a file with a Warwick member, they must sign in to access the file. However, if you send a file download invitation using the Any email address option, the file download URL is not secure. Should anyone obtain this URL, they can access the file.
General notes on security
While it doesn't happen as a matter of course, it is possible that system administrators may access files stored in Files.Warwick. Such administrators are bound by the System Administrators' Code of Conduct
Stored files are not encrypted. So, in the event of a security breach, it is possible that files could be accessed by someone who is not authorised to view them.