Skip to main content Skip to navigation

2017 WATE and WATE PGR 2017 Winners and Commendees

The results have been tabulated and the winners and commendees for the 2017 Warwick Awards for Teaching Excellence (WATE) and Warwick Awards for Teaching Excellence for Postgraduates who Teach (WATE PGR) are:

Warwick Awards for Teaching Excellence ‍ ‌

Warwick Awards for Teaching Excellence for Postgraduates who Teach

2017 Winners 2017 Winners

David Elmes, Warwick Business School

Elizabeth Jones, Economics

Graeme Knowles, WMG

Keith Leppard, Life Sciences

Robert Spooner, Life Sciences

Siavash Esfahani, Engineering

David Felstead, Warwick Business School

Phil Gaydon, IATL / Philosophy

Shaun Stephenson, Philosophy

Kathryn Thompson, Classics and Ancient History

2017 Commendees

2017 Commendees

Ann Haughton, History of Art

Amanda Hopkins, Modern Languages and Cultures

Silvija Jestrovic, Theatre and Performance Studies

Pietro Micheli, Warwick Business School

Stephen Purcell, English and Comparative Literary Studies

Elisabeth Robery, Modern Languages and Cultures

Ben Chapman, Physics

Helen McKay, Computer Science

Andrea Martinez Vernon, Life Sciences

Max Saller, Chemistry

Nicholas Tawn, Statistics

We are particularly grateful to the Warwick International Higher Education Academy for sponsoring a one-off sixth WATE commendee this year.


This year saw the highest ever response by members of the Warwick community for the Awards. Over 80 staff colleagues and 40 postgraduate tutors nominated by nearly 400 students and staff. Nominees came from 27 departments and centres across the University and nearly three out of four nominations came directly from or were co-supported by students.