Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Gillmore Centre - Annual Conference

Inaugural Annual Conference

Warwick Business School Gillmore Centre Conference

DeFi & Digital Currencies - The Shard 1 & 2 September

Call for Papers


Organised by the Gillmore Centre for Financial Technology at Warwick Business School. 

    We are pleased to invite submissions from all areas of DeFi and Digital Currencies, including, but not limited to:

    • Financial stability, macroeconomic and political economy implications of stablecoin and CBDC designs.
    • Optimal design, governance and market efficiency of DeFi Protocols (exchanges, lending protocols, NFTs)
    • Economics of the blockchain (mechanism design, security, and welfare)

    to be considered for presentation at the Inaugural Annual 2022 WBS Gillmore Centre Conference. We encourage both theoretical and empirical contributions.

    Keynote Speakers 

    Huw Pill, Bank of England 
    Chief Economist and Executive Director for Monetary Analysis and Research 

    Itay Goldstein, Wharton 

    Bruno Biais, HEC 


    The conference will be held at Warwick Business School (Level 17) at The Shard, London, and will start on the 1 September with lunch and conclude on 2 September.

    SUBMISSION, NOMINATION AND REGISTRATION DETAILS: The deadline for submissions is 15 July. Authors of accepted papers will be notified by mid/late July.   All papers should be via the submission payment weblinkLink opens in a new window & then emailed to Each submission must be accompanied by a fee of £40 to be considered. Please include the confirmation number for your payment when emailing the paper.

    INTERESTED PARTICIPANTS: If you wish to attend the conference but do not wish to submit a paper, send us a message to convey your interest. We appreciate it if you let us know well in advance to help with the planning. 

    ACADEMIC PROGRAMME COMMITTEE: Bruno Biais, Ram Gopal, Itay Goldstein, Roman Kozhan, Michael Kumhof, My Nguyen, Bazil Sansom, David Skeie, Ruslan Sverchkov, Ganesh Viswanath Natraj, Shu Zhang. 

    CONFERENCE ORGANISING COMMITTEE: Ram Gopal, Matt Hanmer, Katherine Higton, Roman Kozhan, My Nguyen, Bazil Sansom, David Skeie, Ruslan Sverchkov, Ganesh Viswanath Natraj, Shu Zhang.

    FURTHER INFORMATION: If you have any additional comments or questions, send us a message at