Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Undergraduate Studies Committee of the Board of the Faculty of Medicine (Disestablished)

In July 2017, following the 2016/2017 Academic Governance Review, the University Senate and Council approved the merger of the Board of the Faculty of Medicine's Undergraduate Studies Committee and Graduate Studies Committee to establish a Faculty of Education Committee (Medicine). This page remains live to provide an archive.

Jump down to MembershipMembership
Jump down to Reporting Structure
Terms of Reference
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to SecretariatSecretariat
Jump down to MeetingsMeetings

Membership 2016/17

Chair (Pro Dean (Education))

Professor Lesley Roberts

Chair of the Faculty of Medicine

Professor Aileen Clarke

Dean (WMS)

Professor Sudhesh Kumar

MBChB Director

Professor Colin Macdougall

Chair of MBChB LTQ Group

Dr Kate Owen (from 18 October 2016)

Director of Admissions

Professor Richard Tunstall

Diploma in Orthodontic Therapy representative

Professor Bob Ireland

PGT Director

Professor Olwyn Westwood

Phase 1 Academic Lead

Dr Anne Green

Phase 2 Academic Lead

Dr Paul Matthews

Phase 3 Academic Lead

Dr Paul De Cates

Quality Assurance and Enhancement Group Chair

Dr Jacob Saranga

Member of the MB ChB Warwick Assessment Group

Dr Gay Fagan

Senior Assistant Registrar (Education & Development)

Mrs Lara McCarthy

Two members of academic staff from Warwick Medical School:

Dr Clare Blackburn

Dr Debbi Marais

Member of staff from the School of Life Sciences:

Dr Philip Young

A representative of a partner NHS Trust

Dr Olanrewaju Sorinola

Student representatives



MB ChB Senior Tutor or Deputy Senior Tutor

Dr Shirley Rigby

Return to top

Terms of Reference

a) To consider and approve, on behalf of the Board, changes to undergraduate modules in the Faculty.

b) To consider and recommend to the Board of Undergraduate Studies, on behalf of the Faculty Board, new undergraduate courses in the Faculty.

c) To advise and make recommendations to the Board on matters concerning undergraduate teaching and assessment in the Faculty.

d) To be responsible to the Board of the Faculty of Medicine for the provision of advice on matters pertaining to undergraduate affairs including aspects of pastoral care including personal tutoring and educational supervision.

e) To consider matters referred to it by the Board.

f) To act in line with University Regulations relating to Undergraduate Appeals procedures.

Reporting Structure

The Undergraduate Studies Committee reports to the Board of the Faculty of Medicine.

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.

Return to top


Secretary: Claudia Gray, Assistant Registrar (Teaching and Learning)
(C dot Gray dot 1 at warwick dot ac dot uk )

Assistant Secretary:

Graham Hewitt, Programme Quality Manager
(G dot J dot Hewitt at warwick dot ac dot uk ext: 51827)/[email]

Return to top


Dates of meetings of the Undergraduate Studies Committee of the Board of the Faculty of Medicine can be found within the University Committee Timetable.