Skip to main content

Faculty Education Committee (Social Sciences)

Jump down to MembershipMembership
Jump down to Reporting Structure
Terms of Reference
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to SecretariatSecretariat
Jump down to MeetingsMeetings

Membership 2017/18

Chair (Nominee of the Chair of the Board of the Faculty of Social Sciences)

Christopher Bisping

Deputy Chair (UG & Chair of the FSS FYBoE)

Professor Elizabeth Jones

Deputy Chair (PG)

Dr Ema Ushioda

Deputy Chair (PG)

Dr John Thornby

Two representatives from each department of the Faculty of Social Sciences

Dr Jo Angouri (CAL)

Dr Ema Ushioda (CAL)

Dr Dimitra Hartas (CES)

Dr Juliet Raynsford (CES)

Professor Richard Hastings (CEDAR)

Dr Michael Dieter (CIM)

Dr Sarah Cousins (CLL)

Gill Frigerio (CLL)

Will Haywood (CTE)

Dr John Thornby (CTE) (Term 1 only)

Professor Elizabeth Jones (Economics)

Dr Jennifer Smith (Economics)

Dr Guy Longworth (Philosophy)

Professor Miguel Beistegui (Philosophy)

Dr Osman Hassan (PAIS)

Dr Chris Rogers (PAIS)

Dr Alexander Smith (Sociology)

Dr Cath Lambert (Sociology)

Professor Jonathan Garton (Law)

Professor Ann Stewart (Law)

Professor Jacky Swan (WBS)

Professor John Rudd (WBS)

Dr Philippe Blanchard (Warwick Q-Step Centre)

Dr Florian Reiche (Warwick Q-Step Centre)

ESRC Doctoral Training Centre

Professor Nicholas Gane

Institute for Employment Research

Dr Clare Lyonette

Learning and Development Centre

Dr Jennie Mills

Warwick Foundation Studies

Samantha Cook

One Undergraduate Student From the Faculty of Social Sciences

Sophie Worrall / Gregory Clarke

One Postgraduate Taught Student from the Faculty of Social Sciences


One Postgraduate Research Student from the Faculty of Social Sciences


One Representative from each of the other Faculties

Dr David Taylor (Arts)

TBC (Medicine)

Dr Elke Thonnes (Science)

Faculty of Social Sciences Senior Tutor

Dr Dave Britnell

Return to top

Terms of Reference

(a) To consider Faculty-level implementation of the University Education Strategy

(b) To work with the Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Deputy Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Chairs of the Boards of the Faculties, Academic Directors and others to develop Faculty-level approaches to key themes such as Employability, Assessment, Joint Degrees, Feedback and other strategic and topical Education matters

(c) To develop and share best practice, enabling all departments to learn from the experience of the best across a range of areas of practice

(d) To make recommendations to the Board of the Faculty in relation to the development of Education policy and practice

(e) To consider departmental progress towards enhancing the student experience, including as recognised in sector metrics

(f) To contribute to ensuring that Faculty-level education provision remains cutting edge and attractive in a competitive marketplace

(g) To advise and report to the Board of the Faculty on all matters relating to the organisation of teaching including curricula, assessment, examinations and wider student experience

(h) To consider and approve, on behalf of the Board, changes to undergraduate modules in the Faculty, pending the availability of Phase 2 of the SITS workflow

(i) To consider periodic reports from Faculty Education Chairs (appointed to represent the Faculty on examination PRPs and appeals committees Investigating Committees; Continuation of Registration Committees and to approve requests from students for unusual options/variations to curricula/variations to methods of assessment and reports from examiners on research theses) on issues arising for broader education strategy

(j) To discharge the above responsibilities across all levels of study

Reporting Structure

The Faculty Education Committee (Social Sciences) reports to the Board of the Faculty of Social Sciences.

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.

Return to top


Secretary: Martin Mik, Assistant Registrar (Teaching and Learning)
(m dot mik at warwick dot ac dot uk ext: 51698)

Assistant Secretaries:
Alison Greenhalgh, Project Officer (Teaching Quality) (ext: 22212)

Papers for consideration by the Faculty Education Committee (Social Sciences) should be submitted to the Secretary THREE weeks in advance of the meeting at which they are to be considered.

Return to top


Dates of meetings of the Faculty Education Committee (Social Sciences) can be found within the University Committee Timetable.

Click here to access minutes of previous meetings.

Return to top