Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Environment and Amenities Committee

down arrowMembership
down arrowTerms of Reference
down arrowCouncil Committees
down arrowSecretariat
down arrowMeetings

Membership 2008/09
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Campus & the Community) (Chair)

Professor S Bassnett

Registrar (Chair)

Mr J Baldwin
Director of Estates

Mr R Wilson

Two members of the Academic Staff appointed by the Building Committee

Professor C Series
Dr M Skinner

Two student representatives appointed by the Union of Students

Mr A Geshakov

Curator of the Mead Gallery

Ms S Shalgosky
Representative of the Warwick Environmental Network

Ms J Warren

University Safety Officer

Mr I MacKirdy

Ground Superintendent Mr R Boxall

In attendance:

Ms L Pride, Campus Development Architect
Mr C Churchman, University Landscape Architect
Mr M Stacey, Head of Estates Services
Mr N Hilliard, Environment Officer

Return to Top

Terms of Reference

The terms of Reference of the Environment & Amenities Committee are as follows:

1.  To consider policies and issues relating to the maintenance and development of a sustainable campus environment and to make recommendations to the Building Committee.

2.  To ensure that appropriate landscaping considerations are taken into account in the development of the University estate and to recommend new landscaping proposals to the Building Committee.

3.  To monitor procedures and practices across the University relating to compliance with the University’s Environmental Policy and with environmental legislation.

4.  To promote good practice within the University in the conservation of natural resources and reduction of waste and pollutants.

Return to Top

Reporting Structure

The Environment and Amenities Committee reports to the Building Committee

Return to Top


Secretary: Duncan Woodhouse ( or ext: 50681)

Return to Top


Dates of meetings of the Environment and Amenities Committee can be found within the University Committee Timetable.

The Timetable is published and updated online and should be referred to when verifying arrangements through the academic year.  Hard copies of the Committee Timetable are available from the Deputy Registrar's Office.

Click here to access minutes of previous meetings.

Return to Top