Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Undergraduate Studies Committee of the Board of the Faculty of Science (Disestablished)

In July 2017, following the 2016/2017 Academic Governance Review, the University Senate and Council approved the merger of the Board of the Faculty of Science' Undergraduate Studies Committee and Graduate Studies Committee to establish a Faculty of Education Committee (Science). This page remains live to provide an archive.

Jump down to MembershipMembership
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to SecretariatSecretariat
Jump down to MeetingsMeetings

Membership 2016/17


Dr Dave Britnell

Either two or three members of the teaching staff appointed by and from the Departments of:

Dr Andrew Clark (Chemistry)

Professor Tim Bugg (Chemistry)

Dr Paolo Coppo (Chemistry)

Dr Abhir Bhalerao (Computer Science)

Professor Graham Martin (Computer Science)

Dr Matthew Leeke (Computer Science)

Dr Ian Tuersley (Engineering)

Professor Gill Cooke (Engineering)

TBC (Engineering)

Dr Philip Young (Life Sciences)

Dr Isabelle Carre (Life Sciences)

Dr Kevin Purdy (Life Sciences)

Dr Dave Wood (Mathematics)

Professor Gavin Brown (Mathematics)

TBC (Mathematics)

Dr Michael Pounds (Physics)

Dr Yorck Ramachers (Physics)

Dr Nicholas d'Ambrumenil (Physics)

Two members of the teaching staff appointed by and from the Departments of:

Dr Elisabeth Blagrove (Psychology)

Dr Adrian von Muhlenen (Psychology)

Dr Jonathan Warren (Statistics)

Dr Ewart Shaw (Statistics)

Professor Steven Maggs (Warwick Manufacturing Group) (From May 2017)

Dr Emma Rushforth (Warwick Manufacturing Group)

The Chair of the Board of the Faculty of Science

Professor Michael Shipman

Student Representatives

Mr Geert Groeneveld

Ms Hannah Koestler

Return to top

Terms of Reference

(i) To advise and report to the Board of the Faculty on all matters relating to the organisation and teaching in the subjects of SUGS including curricula and examinations.

(ii) To consider the attendance, progress and conduct of students in the subjects prescribed for SUGS and to report thereon through the Board of the Faculty to the Senate.

(iii) To deal with matters which may be referred to it by the Board of the appropriate faculty.

(iv) To advise the Board of the Faculty on nominations of members of the Faculty to serve on University Committees related to matters of undergraduate study.

(v) To monitor undergraduate module approval and undertake audits of the module approval processes within academic departments of the Faculty.

(vi) To carry out detailed initial scrutiny of all proposals for new or restructured undergraduate degree courses in the Faculty and to advise the Board of Undergraduate Studies on these proposals.

(vii) To consider and approve minor changes in methods of assessment for individual students.

Reporting Structure

The Sub-Faculty reports to the Board of the Faculty of Science.

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.


Secretary: Jen Bowskill, Assistant Registrar (Teaching and Learning)
(J dot Bowskill at warwick dot ac dot uk) or ext: 50295

Assistant Secretary: Joanne Holmes, Management Accountant, WBS
(SUGS at warwick dot ac dot uk) or ext: 50031


Dates of meetings of the Sub-Faculty of Science can be found within the University Committee Timetable.

Click here to access minutes of previous meetings.