Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Student Learning Experience & Engagement Committee

Jump down to MembershipMembership
Jump down to Terms of ReferenceTerms of Reference
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to SecretariatSecretariat
Jump down to MeetingsMeetings

Membership 2021/22

Co-Chair & Deputy Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Professor Gwen van der Velden

Co-Chair & Students' Union Education Officer

Isabelle Atkins

Education Executive

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education)

Professor Christopher Hughes

Deputy Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education and Policy)

Professor Andy Clark

Deputy Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education Quality and Standards)

Professor Will Curtis

Academic Director (Postgraduate Taught)

Lee Griffin

Dean of Students

Professor Rebecca Freeman

Director of Flexible and Online Learning

Dr Sam Hardy

Director of Student Opportunity

Roberta Wooldridge Smith

Academic Staff Members

Academic Representative of the Faculty of Arts

Dr Cathy Hampton

Academic Representative of the Faculty of Science, Engineering & Medicine

Dr Russ Kitson

Academic Representative of the Faculty of Social Sciences

Dr Sarah Dahl

Academic Representative of the Institute for Advanced Teaching and Learning

Dr Elena Riva

Student Engagement Co-ordinators

Dr Gavin Schwartz-Leeper/Dr David Lees (Arts (role-share))

Dr Kate Owen/Dr Gemma Gray/Dr Jianhua Yang (Science, Engineering and Medicine (role-share))

Dr Kate Mawson (Social Sciences)

Three Academic Fellows of the WIHEA

Dr Rebecca Limb

Professor Azrini Wahidin

Dr Modupe Olufunmilayo Jimoh

Professional Services Staff Members

Director of Academic Development (ADC)

Dr Letizia Gramaglia

Head of Digital Learning Environment Services, Academic Technology

Kerry Pinny

Representative of the Library

Ant Brewerton

Representative of the Engagement Group

Emma Mundy

Student Engagement Officer, EPQ

Lucy Davis

Student Members

Students' Union Postgraduate Officer

Nathan Parsons

Three student representatives, nominated by the Students' Union




Return to top

Terms of Reference

(a) To oversee and lead the strategic development of the Warwick Student Learning Experience, students’ engagement with learning opportunities, and students’ engagement with the enhancement of their learning experience in line with the University’s Education Strategy;

(b) To receive, consider and coordinate the institutional response to student feedback on their learning experience, including that collected through the National Student Survey, Postgraduate Taught Experience Survey, Warwick Student Experience Survey and Student-Staff Liaison Committees;

(c) To recommend to the Education Committee policy and procedures governing the assurance, review and enhancement of all aspects of student learning, experience and engagement;

(d) To undertake monitoring of all aspects of student learning and experience through an agreed review framework, including consideration of an annual report on the student experience from the Students’ Union;

(e) To develop and demonstrate strong student engagement in academic governance when fulfilling the responsibilities above, and making use the various means available to inform the Committee’s work, including:

(i) To monitor external developments, including peer comparison and reference to relevant external agencies so as to inform outstanding practice;

(ii) To establish relevant time limited working groups and operational oversight groups as necessary, in order to progress agreed items of business;

(iii) To receive and approve reports from relevant committees or boards, including from task and finish groups established by the Committee;

(f) To consider other matters referred to it by the Academic Quality and Standards Committee and University Education Committee.

Return to top

Reporting Structure

The Student Learning Experience and Engagement Committee reports to the Education Committee.

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.

Return to top


Secretary: Lauren Botham
Assistant Secretary: Katharine Stratford

Please use the following email address to communicate with the SLEEC Secretariat SLEEC at warwick dot ac dot uk

Papers for consideration by the Student Learning Experience and Engagement Committee should be submitted to the Secretary two weeks in advance of the meeting at which they are to be considered.

Return to top


Dates of meetings of the Student Learning Experience and Engagement Committee can be found within the University Committee Timetable.

Click here to access minutes of previous meetings.

Return to top

You may also wish to visit:

Education Policy & Quality webpages