Please read our student and staff community guidance on COVID-19
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

University Executive Board

Diagram of the University's decision-making structures during COVID-19 here.

Membership and Terms of Reference of the University Executive Board Gold Team here.

Membership 2020/21 subject to approval at the Council meeting on 14 October 2020


The Vice-Chancellor (Chair)

Professor Stuart Croft

The Provost

Professor Chris Ennew

The Registrar

Rachel Sandby-Thomas

The Pro-Vice-Chancellors

Professor Chris Hughes
Professor Michael Shipman
Professor Pam Thomas

The Group Finance Director

Rosie Drinkwater

Commercial Director

Rupert Lawrie

Secretary to Council

Sharon Tuersley

Chief Information and Digital Officer

Tony Pauley

Return to top

Terms of Reference - subject to approval at the Council meeting on 14 October 2020

(a) To be responsible for overseeing the implementation of the University strategy, including the coordination of strategic planning and resourcing, and the monitoring of key performance metrics, on behalf of the Senate and the Council.
(b) To oversee performance and risk management through agreed KPIs/dashboards etc.
(c) Provide assurance that the required standards of accountability and legal and regulatory compliance are being achieved.
(d) To coordinate for the consideration of the Senate and the Council the academic, social and physical aspects of planning for the development of the University, and to ensure that in matters for which the statutory responsibility is laid on the Council the views of the Senate are clearly transmitted.
(e) To act as the delegated authority to approve all staff and student related policies on behalf of the Senate and the Council; except where a policy would have a significant impact on the financial or budgetary position of the University.
(f) To provide a strategic direction for the allocation of resources.
(g) To approve major operational decisions.
(h) To provide active and visible leadership.

Return to top

Reporting Structure

The University Executive Board reports to both the Senate and the Council.

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.

Return to top


Secretary: Sarah Wall, Executive Officer

Assistant Secretary: Governance Team via 

Return to top


Dates of meetings of the University Executive Board can be found within the University Committee Timetable.

The Timetable is published and updated online and should be referred to when verifying arrangements through the academic year.

The deadline to submit papers for a University Executive Board meeting taking place on a Monday, is 9am on the previous Wednesday. Please note that the paper should utilise the University Executive Board templates (top right on this page) and should be the final version, approved by the relevant executive lead.

Return to top