Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Activators and Scholar celebration evening


Activators and scholarship athletes recognised for outstanding sporting contributions

Friday 30 July 2023

The Activators and Scholar Celebration Evening took place on Friday 23 June at the Cryfield Pavilion to honour the hard work and dedication of the sport volunteers and scholarship athletes at the University of Warwick.

Scholarship athletes and activators were celebrated for their exceptional contributions to the sporting community. The attendees were also treated to an inspiring speech by Paralympian Melanie Barratt, renowned for her outstanding swimming career.

Speech by Paralympian Melanie Barratt

The evening's highlight, however, was the recognition of the outstanding scholarship athletes and activators who have excelled in their sporting performances and displayed unwavering commitment to supporting Warwick throughout the year.

Scholar Awards winners

Outstanding Performance

  • Amelia Turner and Hamza Bham were awarded for their remarkable sporting performances and dedication to the scholarship programme. They have consistently demonstrated excellence throughout the year and have become valuable ambassadors for the growing scholarship programme at Warwick.

Excellence in Sport

  • George Seery was recognised for his outstanding performances and results in athletics throughout the season. George's dedication and hard work paid off when he won a gold medal in the BUCS outdoors athletics event in the 400m hurdles, leading to his selection for the England U23 squad. George's success continued with his selection to represent GB in the U23 men's 400m hurdles later in the summer.
  • James Woodgate, an accomplished archer, reclaimed his national title in the Senior Men's Recurve at the National Indoor Archery GB Championships. His consistent performances in camps and international competitions earned him a spot in the GB Archery squad for the European Games in Poland.
  • Kelvin Ho and Samuel Ricketts, a duo in Double Badminton, achieved remarkable success by winning a gold medal in the BUCS Nationals Men's doubles event. Their journey continued with international tournaments where they secured their first-ever international title, earning them a well-deserved spot in the world rankings.

Commitment award

  • Maya Kateli, Edwin Foudil, Fabienne Bull, and Nathan Massett were recognised for their wholehearted commitment to their respective sports. These athletes showed dedication in training and made significant contributions to their teams.

Commitment award winner Edwin Foudil receiving his award

Lifetime award

  • Professor Chris Ennew OBE was recognised for her services with the Lifetime in Sport Achievement Award. Chris, who is retiring from her role as Provost this summer, has relentlessly championed student athletes and Warwick Sport throughout her tenure, attending various events and offering valuable guidance despite her very busy schedule.
  • Paralympian Kare Adenegan was also honoured. Kare has been an exceptional ambassador for Warwick and the local community, inspiring everyone with her achievements in wheelchair racing and promoting inclusion and teamwork.

Kare Adenegan receiving her Lifetime award

Activator awards

The activators, who have played a crucial role in the Active Wellbeing programme, were also recognised for their outstanding contributions throughout the year.

Commitment award

John Sainsbury was honoured as the most committed activator, dedicating over 90 hours to volunteering for the Rock Ups and refereeing in the 11-a-side Active League. In recognition of his efforts, John will receive a funded CPD qualification related to football coaching.

Team of the year

  • The Badminton Team, consisting of 13 staff and students, received the Team of the Year award for their flawless teamwork in running the badminton sessions throughout the year. Their support and communication were invaluable in ensuring the success of the sessions and tournaments.

Newcomer of the year

  • Martand Singh, who joined as an activator this year, demonstrated exceptional enthusiasm and dedication to the Active Wellbeing programme. He assisted with various sports sessions and made a significant impact in supporting the Welcome Week tournaments.

Staff & Postgraduate Activator of the year

  • Adam Gallimore, a dedicated staff member, was recognised for consistently putting in hard work throughout the year to run activities. Adam's commitment ensured the smooth running of Rock Ups during both term time and holidays. Additionally, he will also be captain of the staff football team in the upcoming UK Corporate Games.

Outstanding contribution

  • Max Graham received the Outstanding Contribution award for going above and beyond in enhancing the experience of others within the Active Wellbeing programme. Max's exceptional efforts as the League Activator for 11-a-side football, including organising and implementing new initiatives, earned him this well-deserved recognition.

League Activator awards

  • Lily Samuels (netball), Luke Tebbutt (basketball), Amirul Hakeem (volleyball), David Peng (badminton), and Max Graham (football) were acknowledged for their hard work and dedication in organising and running the various leagues throughout the year.

The Activators and Scholar Celebration Evening was a testament to the incredible talent and dedication present at the University of Warwick. These exceptional individuals have not only excelled in their respective sports but have also made a significant impact on the sporting community.

Get involved

Join our thriving Active Wellbeing sporting community at Warwick or learn how to become an Activator.