Skip to main content Skip to navigation

CPD Conference for Teachers and Advisers

I am writing to invite you to a free CPD Conference for Teachers and Advisers, run jointly by the 24 universities in the Russell Group (listed below).

We are working together to offer two free one-day conferences providing information for state schools and colleges about opportunities, entry processes and requirements for Russell Group universities. You will hear first-hand from Russell Group university staff and have the opportunity to share ideas with colleagues from the school and university sectors and find out what works. We aim to provide you with the tools to develop your in-school provision, so you can:


- enable students from less advantaged backgrounds to recognise selective universities as an option open to them

- increase their chances of making a successful application

- address Ofsted expectations around provision of careers guidance in schools that empowers young people to make informed choices for their key stage 5 and university progression

We will run the conference at two locations and provide the same programme in both locations.


The University of Cambridge on 18 April 2016.

Find out more and book your place using this Eventbrite link:

The University of Liverpool on 26 April 2016.

Find out more and book your place using this Eventbrite link:


Please note that places are limited and we will allocate places on a first-come, first-served basis. Applications close on April 1 2016.


The Russell Group universities are 24 leading UK universities which are committed to maintaining the very best research, an outstanding teaching and learning experience and unrivalled links with business and the public sector.


University of Birmingham

University of Bristol

University of Cambridge

Cardiff University

Durham University

University of Edinburgh

University of Exeter

University of Glasgow

Imperial College London

King’s College London

University of Leeds

University of Liverpool

London School of Economics and Political Science

University of Manchester

Newcastle University

University of Nottingham

University of Oxford

Queen Mary University of London

Queen’s University, Belfast

University of Sheffield

University of Southampton

University College London

University of Warwick

University of York