Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Physics Department News

Select tags to filter on

COVID-19 Return to Campus

Physics is following all university guidance to ensure our activities can restart and continue to operate safely.

Staff and PhD students are reminded that they must not come to campus if they are displaying any symptoms of Covid-19.

Please read the guidance and complete the checklist before returning to campus.

Fri 02 Oct 2020, 10:16 | Tags: announcements

New Students 2020

For all those students joining us this autumn, we are pleased to welcome you to the Department of Physics. Please visit our welcome page for further information.

Wed 02 Sep 2020, 10:48 | Tags: Undergraduates

Loschmidt echo singularities as dynamical signatures of strongly localized phases

Quantum localization (single-body or many-body) comes with the emergence of local conserved quantities called l-bits—whose conservation is precisely at the heart of the absence of transport through the system. And in the just published article New J. Phys. 23, 1 (2021),, two Warwick physicists and an international team show that these l-bits bear a dramatic universal signature, accessible to state-of-the-art quantum simulators, in the form of periodic cusp singularities in the Loschmidt echo following a quantum quench from a Néel/charge-density-wave state.

Mon 22 Feb 2021, 11:18 | Tags: Research

Warwick Institute of Engagement – Fellowships Update

New fellows of the Warwick Institute of Engagement have been announced! Physics is very well represented - congratulations to:

Ally Caldecote (Foundation Fellow)
Anne-Marie Broomhall (Foundation Fellow)
Aruni Fonseka (Associate Fellow)
Don Pollacco (Honorary Fellow)
Oksana Trushkevych (Associate Fellow)
Tishtrya Mehta (Associate Fellow).

They will work with the team (incl. Rachel Edwards, the Institute's Deputy Director) to deliver and promote high quality public engagement. You can find more about the Warwick Institute of Engagement and its initiatives here.

Fri 19 Feb 2021, 12:45 | Tags: Feature News, Outreach, Public Engagement and Media

Older news