Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Welfare and Communication Group

Responsible for:

  • Discussing issues and taking action to promote good working practices and equal opportunities for all staff and students in Physics.
  • Ensuring appropriate representation on the committee and taking steps to address any imbalances.
  • Oversight and monitoring of the Juno/Athena SWAN action plan, production of an annual report to staff and submission of Juno/Athena SWAN renewal documentation.
  • Delegating representation for Physics on the University Athena SWAN network.

The membership of the Group is:

Name Role within the Physics Department Email

Mark Newton

Chair of Welfare and Communication Committee and Head of Department physics.head@warwick.ac.uk

Antoine Allard

Research Fellow representative Antoine.Allard@warwick.ac.uk 

Falusho Balogun

Postgraduate Student Helen.Balogun@warwick.ac.uk 

Matthew Battley

Postgraduate Student Matthew.Battley@warwick.ac.uk 

Katherine Branch

Senior Administrative Officer K.Branch@warwick.ac.uk 
Matt Broome Academic staff Matthew.A.Broome@warwick.ac.uk
Susan Burrows Athena/Juno representative S.E.Burrows@warwick.ac.uk 
Edward Butler-Caddle Postgraduate Student 2018-2022 Edward.Butler-Caddle@warwick.ac.uk
Reza Kashtiban Senior Research Fellow representative R.Jalilkashtiban@warwick.ac.uk
James Lloyd-Hughes Director of Graduate Studies, Member of Postgraduate SSLC J.Lloyd-Hughes@warwick.ac.uk
Ares Osborn Postgraduate Student 2018-2022 E.Osborn@warwick.ac.uk
Michael Pounds Director of Student Experience M.Pounds@warwick.ac.uk
Ayesha Rahman Office Manager/HR Administrator a.rahman@warwick.ac.uk
Tom Rehaag Postgraduate Student Thomas.Rehaag@warwick.ac.uk 
Ria Wilson Project Officer R.Wilson.7@warwick.ac.uk 
Contacting the Committee

The committee meets every 3 months, and as required for award submissions. If there are any issues related to equality and fairness within the Physics Department that you would like to raise, please contact the Chair (Mark Newton) or the Senior Administrative Officer (Katherine Branch).

Minutes and meeting papers available here
This year's meeting dates

TBC