Skip to main content Skip to navigation



The Hine Group in 2018 (l-r: Joly, Temok, Sena, Joshua, Nick, Daniel, Matt, Siow-Mean, Nelson)

Post-Doctoral Research Associates

  • Dr Samuel Magorrian, (Warwick Theory Group, 2D Materials)
  • Dr Miguel Escobar-Azor (Warwick Theory Group, Methodological Development)

PhD Students

  • Carlo Maino (HetSys CDT and Warwick Theory Group, Machine Learning for Theoretical Spectroscopy)
  • Anas Siddiqui (HetSys CDT and Warwick Theory Group, 2D Material Heterostructures and alloys)
  • Jacob Eller (HetSys CDT and Warwick Theory Group, Theoretical Spectroscopy of sunscreen compounds)
  • YC Wong (HetSys CDT and Warwick Theory Group, Photoconductivity of Strongly Correlated Oxides)
  • Ali Safavi (Warwick Theory Group, Hematite Nanocrystals)
  • Zahra Bhatti (Habershon group, Photo-activated Small Molecules)
  • Phil Jones (A. Bartok-Partay Group, Muon Spectroscopy)

Masters Students

  • Panos Kourtis (MRes 2022-23)

Undergraduate Research Students

  • Luca Seaford and Ovidiu Tirnovan (2023-2024)


  • Dr Daniel Corken (Warwick Chemistry and Warwick Theory Group, PhD 2018-2023)
  • Luke Schlimper (BSc Project 2022-23)
  • Dr Siow Mean Loh (Warwick Theory Group, 2D materials)
  • Mark Voslinsky and Marian Istoc (MPhys Project 2021-22)
  • Panos Kourtis and Balint Toth (BSc Project, 2021-22)
  • Kevin Wong (URSS Student 2021)
  • Dr Jolyon Aarons (Warwick Theory Group, Methodological Development, PDRA 2017-2020)
  • Ian Ford (MPhys Project, 2020-21)
  • Chris Damour (BSc Project, 2020-21)
  • Harry Hudson (BSc Project, 2020-21)
  • Dr Matt Turner (Warwick Theory Group, PhD MAS CDT 2016-2020, PDRA 2020-21, theoretical spectroscopy of dyes in solvent)
  • Dr Nelson Yeung (Warwick Theory Group, PhD 2015-2019, 2D material heterostructures)
  • Dr Edoardo Carnio (Warwick Theory Group, PhD 2014-2018, PDRA 2018, Anderson Localisation, 2D materials)
  • Dr José María Escartín Esteban (TCM, Methodological Development)
  • Dr Temok Salazar (Warwick Theory Group, van der Waals Heterostructures)
  • Dr Tim Zuehlsdorff (TCM, Methodological Development)
  • Dr David Turban (PhD 2013-2018, TCM, Hybrid interfaces for Photovoltaics)
  • Dr Gabriel Constantinescu (MPhil 2013-2014, PhD 2014-2018, TCM, 2D material heterostructures)
  • Dr Edward Tait (PhD 2014-2018, TCM, Theoretical Spectroscopy of Metal Oxide nanoparticles)
  • Dr Kevin Duff (TCM, 2015-2019, Metallic Systems for Catalysis)
  • Joshua Murphy (BSc Project 2018-20)
  • Nikita Channa (MPhys Project 2019-20)
  • Cameron Fantham (MPhys Project 2019-20)
  • Raphael Chantreau Majerus (MAS CDT mini project on Agrochemicals, 2018)
  • Sena Basoah-Acolatse (BSc Project, 2018-19)
  • Jordan Weatherby and Josh Reiners (BSc Project, 2017-18)
  • James Crew and Simone Coppola (BSc Project, 2017-18)
  • Joe Marsh Rossney (URSS Project, 2017, Spectral function projection of TMDC alloys)
  • Dom Harrison and Tim Jackson (BSc Project, 2016-17)
  • Mark Skelton and Rhys Brown (BSc Project, 2015-16)
  • Dr Niccolo Corsini (2011-2015, Pressure-Induced Phase Transformations in Nanocrystals)

  • Dr Jian-Hao Li (2012-2015, QNTO Analysis in Linear-Scaling TDDFT)

  • James Kohout (URSS Project, 2015, mobility of adatoms on graphene)

  • Jon Barnes-Nunn (URSS Project, 2015, LS-DFT on polymers)

  • Dr Lampros Andrinopoulos (PhD 2009-2013, van der Waals interactions in DFT)
  • Gleb Siroki (UG 2013, Theoretical Spectroscopy of Graphene Oxide)
  • Lukas Medisauskas (MPhil 2011, phase transformations in gallium)
  • Dr Phillip Avraam (PhD 2011, LS-DFT Simulations of GaAs Nanorods)
  • David Schnoerr (UG 2010, phase transformations in gallium)

The Hine Group in 2013

The Hine Group in 2013 (l-r: Jian-Hao, Nick, David, Niccolo, José, Gabriel)