Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Graduate Studies Committee of the Board of the Faculty of Arts (Disestablished)

In July 2017, following the 2016/2017 Academic Governance Review, the University Senate and Council approved the merger of the Board of the Faculty of Arts' Undergraduate Studies Committee and Graduate Studies Committee to establish a Faculty of Education Committee (Arts). This page remains live to provide an archive.

Jump down to MembershipMembership
Jump down to Reporting Structure
Terms of Reference
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to SecretariatSecretariat
Jump down to MeetingsMeetings

Membership 2016/17


Professor Penny Roberts

Deputy Chair

Dr David Wright

One member from each of the teaching Departments within the Faculty

Professor David Lambert (Centre for Caribbean Studies)

Dr David Wright (Centre for Cultural Policy)

Dr Sarah Wood (Centre for the Study of the Renaissance)

Dr Victoria Rimell (Classics and Ancient History)

Professor Daniel Katz (English and Comparative Literary Studies)

Professor Stephen Gundle (Film and Television Studies (Terms 1 & 3))

Dr Karl Schoonover (Film and Television Studies (Term 2))

Professor David Anderson (History)

Professor Michael Hatt (History of Art)

Professor Peter Poellner (Philosopy)

Dr Yvette Hutchison (Theatre and Performance Studies)

Two members from the School of Modern Languages

Dr Jennifer Burns

Dr Oliver Davis ((Term 2))

Professor Nick Hewlett ((Terms 1 & 3))

One student representative

Miss Emily Dunford

Return to top

Terms of Reference

1) To be responsible to the Board of the Faculty of Arts. To advise the Faculty on matters pertaining to graduate affairs. Such matters may originate within the Faculty or may be referred from the Board of Graduate Studies;

2) To carry out an initial detailed scrutiny of all proposals from Departments within the Faculty for new or restructured degree courses and to advise and make recommendations, on behalf of the Board of the Faculty of Arts, to the Board of Graduate Studies on these proposals;

3) To undertake audits of postgraduate module approval processes within academic departments of the Faculty;

4) To receive and consider examiners' reports on research theses;

5) To identify experts in the Faculty as appropriate for training sessions specific to the Faculty;

6) To monitor examinations conventions within the Faculty and ensure parity of distinctions and referrals;

7) To further exchange information on graduate matters across the Faculty;

8) To encourage and monitor graduate matters across the Faculty;

9) To encourage and monitor graduate activity across the Faculty.

Reporting Structure

The Graduate Studies Committee reports to the Board of the Faculty of Arts.

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.

Return to top


Secretary: Mrs Clair Henrywood, Assistant Registrar (Teaching and Learning) (ext: 51619)

Assistant Secretary: Jenni Smith, Professional Services Manager (Centre for Professional Education)
(ext: 24208)
Correspondence should be sent to artsfacultyboard at warwick dot ac dot uk

Return to top


Dates of meetings of the Graduate Studies Committee of the Board of the Faculty of Arts can be found within the University Committee Timetable.