Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Undergraduate Studies Committee of the Board of the Faculty of Arts (Disestablished)

In July 2017, following the 2016/2017 Academic Governance Review, the University Senate and Council approved the merger of the Board of the Faculty of Arts' Undergraduate Studies Committee and Graduate Studies Committee to establish a Faculty of Education Committee (Arts). This page remains live to provide an archive.

Jump down to MembershipMembership
Jump down to Reporting Structure
Terms of Reference
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to SecretariatSecretariat
Jump down to MeetingsMeetings

Membership 2016/17


Dr Joanne Lee

Deputy Chair

Dr Tim White

One member form each of the teaching departments within the Faculty:

Dr Suzanne Frey-Kupper (Classics and Ancient History (Term 1))

Dr David Fearn (Classics and Ancient History (Term 2 & 3))

Professor Michael Gardiner (English and Comparative Literary Studies)

Dr Helen Wheatley (Film and Television Studies)

Professor Christoph Mick (History)

Dr Jenny Alexander (History of Art)

Dr Eileen John (Philosopy)

Dr Tim White (School of Theatre, Performance and Cultural Policy Studies (Deputy Chair))

Two members from the School of Modern Languagees

Dr Cathy Hampton

Mr Evan Stewart

Two members from the School for Cross-Faculty Studies

Dr David Beck

Dr Gavin Schwartz-Leeper

One student representative

Mr Liam Jackson

Return to top

Terms of Reference

1) To be responsible to the Board of the Faculty of Arts. To advise the Faculty on matters pertaining to undergraduate affairs. Such matters may originate within the Faculty or may be referred from the Board of Undergraduate Studies;

2) To carry out an initial detailed scrutiny of all proposals from Departments within the Faculty for new or restructured degree courses and to advise and make recommendations, on behalf of the Board of the Faculty of Arts, to the Board of Undergraduate Studies, on these proposals;

3) To undertake audits of undergraduate module approval processes within academic departments of the Faculty;

4) To consider and give approval for variations of syllabus and minor changes in regulations for individual students without recourse to the Chair of the Board of the Faculty of Arts;

5) To act with suitably augmented membership as the First Year Board of Examiners of the Faculty of Arts as appropriate.

Reporting Structure

The Undergraduate Studies Committee reports to the Board of the Faculty of Arts.

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.

Return to top


Secretary: Mrs Clair Henrywood, Assistant Registrar (Teaching and Learning) (ext: 51619)

Assistant Secretary: Claire Cadman, Undergraduate Admissions Officer (Student Admissions and Recruitment)
(ext: 74052)

Correspondence should be sent to artsfacultyboard at warwick dot ac dot uk

Return to top


Dates of meetings of the Undergraduate Studies Committee of the Board of the Faculty of Arts can be found within the University Committee Timetable.

Return to top