Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Graduate Studies Committee of the Board of the Faculty of Medicine (Disestablished)

In July 2017, following the 2016/2017 Academic Governance Review, the University Senate and Council approved the merger of the Board of the Faculty of Medicine's Undergraduate Studies Committee and Graduate Studies Committee to establish a Faculty of Education Committee (Medicine). This page remains live to provide an archive.

Jump down to MembershipMembership
Jump down to Reporting StructureTerms of Reference
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to SecretariatSecretariat
Jump down to MeetingsMeetings

Membership 2016/17

Chair (Pro-Dean (Education))

Professor Lesley Roberts

Chair of Faculty of Medicine

Professor Aileen Clarke

Dean of Warwick Medical School

Professor Sudhesh Kumar

MBChB Director

Professor Colin Macdougall

PGT Director

Professor Olwyn Westwood

PGT Portfolio Lead

Dr Debbi Marais

Senior Operating Officer (Postgraduate)

Mr Neil Stockton

PGR Director

Dr Philip McTernan

Five members of academic staff in Warwick Medical School

Dr Richard Cure

Professor Andrew McAinsh

Dr David Davies

Dr Peter Jennings

Dr Catherine Bennett

Quality Assurance and Enhancement Group Chair:

Dr Jacob Saranga

A representative from the School of Life Sciences:

Dr Keith Leppard

A representative of a partner NHS Trust

Mr Sailesh Sankar

Two student representatives:



PG Senior Tutor

Mr Andrew Taylor

Return to top

Terms of Reference

1) To consider and approve, on behalf of the Board, changes to the postgraduate modules and CPD programmes in the Faculty.

2) To consider and recommend to the Board of Graduate Studies, on behalf of the Faculty Board, new postgraduate and CPD courses in the Faculty.

3) To consider business referred by the Board of Graduate Studies and to respond on behalf of the Faculty Board.

4) To consider matters relating to research students in the Faculty of Medicine.

5) To provide oversight of non-accredited educational activity in the Faculty and to receive an annual report regarding this activity.

Reporting Structure

The Graduate Studies Committee reports to the Board of the Faculty of Medicine.

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.

Return to top


Secretary: Claudia Gray, Assistant Registrar (Teaching and Learning)
(C dot Gray dot 1 at warwick dot ac dot uk)

Assistant Secretary: Julie Shore, Operations Manager, Dean's Office, WMS

Return to top


Dates of meetings of the Graduate Studies Committee of the Board of the Faculty of Medicine can be found within the University Committee Timetable.

The Timetable is published and updated online and should be referred to when verifying arrangements through the academic year.