Skip to main content

Equality and Diversity Committee

Jump down to Reporting StructureMembership
Jump down to Reporting StructureTerms of Reference
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to Reporting StructureSecretariat
Jump down to Reporting StructureMeetings

Membership 2017/18

The Provost, a Pro-Vice-Chancellor or Academic Vice-President (Chair)

Professor Christine Ennew

Eight members of the Academic staff, comprising two representatives from each of the four Faculties, appointed by the Senate on the recommendation of the Boards of the Faculties



Dr Linda Shortt
Dr Rashmi Varma


Dr Naila Rabbani
Dr Kirstie Haywood


Professor Gary Bending
Dr Joanna Collingwood

Social Sciences

Dr Vasiliki Totsika
Dr Maria do Mar Pereira

The Students' Union Welfare and Campaigns Officer

Ellen Holmes

One Postgraduate student representative, nominated by the Students' Union


The Dean of Students, or nominee

Professor Louise Garcia

One member of Contract Research staff

Dr Mairi Ann Cullen

Two members of Non-academic staff grades 6 – 9, appointed by the Registrar

Martin Mik
Antony Brewerton

Two members of Non-academic staff grades 1a – 5, appointed by the Registrar

Patricia Burke
Stephanie Smart

One Senior Manager from the Campus and Commercial Services Group (CCSG) areas, appointed by the Registrar

Mark Potter

One member appointed by and from the Office for Global Engagement, appointed by the Registrar Claire O’Leary

One member external to the University

Barbara Hay

The Chair of the Equality and Diversity Network Group

Rosalind Roke

The Director of the People Group, or nominee

Gillian McGrattan

The Deputy Director of Wellbeing Support Services

Shirley Crookes

The Head of Disability Services

Despina Weber / Kathryn Fisher

A representative of the Estates Office

Duncan Stiles

One Co-opted member

Rev. Kate Pearson

Return to top

Terms of Reference

(a) To devise, co-ordinate and monitor steps taken by the University to comply with the Equality Act 2010, with particular regard to the protected characteristics: age, disability, race, sex, sexual orientation, religion or belief, gender reassignment, pregnancy and maternity and marriage or civil partnership.

(b) To review and develop the University’s Equality and Diversity Policies, to monitor the implementation of the University’s Equality and Diversity Policies and to ensure that all such documentation complies with the law and is effectively disseminated to University staff and other members of the University.

(c) To advise the Council, the Senate and other University bodies on policy matters and practice relating to equality and diversity.

(d) To consult widely with all relevant groups within the University in pursuance of its terms of reference.

(e) To monitor the composition of the University’s workforce and student body.

(f) To monitor the University’s practice on the admission of students and the recruitment of staff.

(g) To prepare and maintain an institutional plan of action to ensure that equal opportunities policies are translated into programmes of action and report annually to the Senate and the Council.

Return to top

Reporting Structure

The Equality and Diversity Committee reports to the Council and the Senate. It also liaises with the Equality and Diversity Network.

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.

Return to top


Secretary: Leonie Walls, HR Manager
(L dot R dot Walls at warwick dot ac dot uk) or ext: 72914
Assistant Secretary: Sandra Beaufoy, HR Adviser (Equality and Diversity)
(S dot Beaufoy at warwick dot ac dot uk) or ext: 74479

Papers for consideration by the Equality and Diversity Committee should be submitted to the Secretary two weeks in advance of the meeting at which they are to be considered.

Return to top


Dates of meetings of the Equality and Diversity Committee can be found within the University Committee Timetable.

The Timetable is published and updated online and should be referred to when verifying arrangements through the academic year.

Click here to access minutes of previous meetings.

Return to top


You may like to see:

Equality and Diversity web site