Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Financial Plan Sub-Committee

Jump down to MembershipMembership
Jump down to Terms of ReferenceTerms of Reference
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to SecretariatSecretariat
Jump down to MeetingsMeetings

Membership 2022/23

Vice-Chancellor and President (Chair)

Professor Stuart Croft


Professor Christine Ennew


Neil Sachdev (2024)

Independent member of the University Council, appointed by the Finance and General Purposes Committee (FGPC)

Bal Claire (2025)


Rachel Sandby-Thomas

Group Finance Director

Rosie Drinkwater

The Vice-Presidents and Pro-Vice-Chancellors

Professor Christopher Hughes

Professor Caroline Meyer

Professor Michael Shipman

Commercial Director

Chris Hunt

Secretary to Council

Dr Chris Twine

Chief Information and Transformation Officer

Raja-Saleem Javaid

Chief Communications Officer


Chair of Faculty

Professor Rachel Moseley (2025)

Two Academic members of staff of the University, appointed by the FGPC:

Professor Gill Cooke (2024)

Professor Karuna Sampath (2023)

Note: The year after a member's name indicates that their term of office expires on 31 July of that year. Independent members from the Council can change annually.

In Attendance:

Director of Financial Strategy & Reporting - Secretary
Two Deputy Finance Directors - Debbie Jay and Chris Key
Executive Officer

Terms of Reference

To recommend to the Finance & General Purposes Committee:

1. The University’s Financial Plan.

2. The Finance Strategic Risk Register.

Delegated authority to approve:

3. Additional expenditure on projects in the Financial Plan or that have previously been approved by Council of up to £500k*.

4. New capital expenditure of up to £500k*.

5. New revenue expenditure of up to £500k*.

*With a cumulative cap of £0.5m between FGPC meetings.

6. The University’s TRAC and TRAC(T) returns to the Office for Students (OfS).

7. Requests for approval of, and alterations to, tuition fees and other academic fees, and associated fee policies on the recommendation of the Fees Working Group.

Return to top

Reporting Structure

The Financial Plan Sub-Committee reports to the Finance and General Purposes Committee.

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.

Return to top


Secretary: Andrew Smith, Director of Financial Strategy & Reporting

Assistant Secretary: Governance Team. Please use fpsc at warwick dot ac dot uk in the first instance to make contact.

Correspondence should be sent to fpsc at warwick dot ac dot uk.

Please refer to the Secretariat at the email above for the timetable for submission of reports to the Financial Plan Sub-Committee.

Templates for reports should be requested from the email above.

Return to top


Dates of meetings of the Financial Plan Sub-Committee can be found within the University Committee Timetable.

Return to top