Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Internationalisation Steering Committee

Jump down to MembershipMembership
Jump down to Terms of ReferenceTerms of Reference
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to SecretariatSecretariat
Jump down to SecretariatMeetings

Membership 2021/22

The Academic Director (Education and Internationalisation) (Chair) Professor Jo Angouri

The Chairs/Deputy Chairs of the Faculty Education Committees:

Professor Sarah Richardson (Arts)

Dr Naomi Waltham-Smith (Social Sciences)

Professor David Davies (Science, Engineering and Medicine)

The Assistant Director (Student Recruitment) or nominee Jon Inegbedion
Two Representatives from the Faculty of Arts TBC
Two Representatives from the Faculty of Science, Engineering and Medicine TBC
Two Representatives from the Faculty of Social Sciences TBC
The Director of Student Opportunity Roberta Wooldridge Smith
The Administrative Officer, Education Policy & Quality Gabriella Bersanetti
The Chair of Internationalisation Learning Circle, WIHEA Dr Bryan Brazeau
The Director of International Strategy & Relations Sally Smith
The Deputy Director and Academic Manager, Institute of Advanced Teaching and Learning Caroline Gibson
Head of Internationalisation, Welcome, Student Experience, and Immigration Claire O’Leary
The Short Term Mobility Manager, Student Mobility Maria Fox
The Head of Student Mobility Helen Johnson
The International Employer Liaison Manager, Student Opportunity Esther de Perlaky
The President of the Students’ Union Shingai Dzumbira
The President/Deputy Chair of the International Education Projects Student Board (ISB) TBC

Return to top

Terms of Reference

  1. To have an oversight of the strategy for the internationalisation of education, approve an implementation plan and monitor progress towards achievement of strategic goals.
  2. To work with academic departments to lead and facilitate the embedding of forms of internationalisation within academic curricula.
  3. To secure the provision of internationalisation opportunities for students within the University’s co-curricular provision.
  4. To engage in sector benchmarking, to ensure that internationalisation activity is underpinned by insight into sector leading provision.
  5. To reach out to in/formal groupings and networks across the University to engage and draw on expertise relating to internationalisation, fostering an institutional culture of debate and enquiry around internationalisation.
  6. To raise awareness within the student body of the benefits of engaging in international experiences and to seek to ensure students are enabled to articulate the value of these.
  7. To secure internationalisation as a core component of a Warwick degree, communicating this to students and prospective students, contributing to Warwick’s reputation as a centre for excellence in internationalisation.
  8. Through insight into the international student journey, to mitigate any barriers to equity of opportunity on behalf of international students.
  9. To re-design mobility, to develop a new strategic and flexible portfolio of short, long, virtual, and blended mobility opportunities.

Return to top

Reporting Structure

The Internationalisation Steering Committee reports into the Education Committee.

Return to top


Secretary: Maria Fox, Short Term Mobility Manager, Student Opportunity

Assistant Secretary: Simon Brown, Internationalisation Officer

Return to top


Meetings to be held once each term.

Click here to access minutes of previous meetings.

Return to top