Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Special Cases Committee

Membership 2020/21

Pro-Vice-Chancellor Education (Chair)

Professor Christopher Hughes

The Vice-Chancellor (ex officio)

Professor Stuart Croft

One of the Deputy Pro-Vice-Chancellors within the Education Executive


Academic Registrar

Dr Chris Twine
Chief External Examiner Professor Denis Wright
External Advisory Consultant (Quality & Standards) Professor David Lamburn
Director of Education Policy and Quality Maureen McLaughlin

The year after a member’s name indicates that their term of office expires on 31 July of that year.

In Attendance


Terms of Reference

1. To consider and determine definitively on behalf of the Senate cases referred to it by Boards of Examiners:

(a) that a ruling is required by a Board of Examiners concerning the application and interpretation of regulations, rules or conventions relating to the assessment, examination or awards on taught courses;

(b) that a ruling is required by a Board of Examiners where individual student circumstances mean that existing regulations, rules or conventions cannot be used to reach an outcome;

(c) that in the opinion of a Board of Examiners and its External Examiner(s) the application of regulations, rules or conventions would result in an anomalous outcome for a student;

(d) that, for exceptional reasons, the published decisions of Boards of Examiners be changed;

(e) that students be permitted to progress, continue or graduate notwithstanding provisions within regulations, rules or conventions in cases where to do otherwise would result in manifest unfairness to the student.

2. In cases where Boards of Examiners seek guidance and/or refer individual student cases to the Committee, to ensure that regulations, rules and conventions are applied consistently and properly.

Return to top

Reporting Structure

The Special Cases Committee reports to the Senate Sub-Group.

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.

Return to top


Assistant Secretary:

Return to top


The Special Cases Committee meets XXX