Skip to main content

Fereshteh Samsami

Course: MPhys Mathematics and Physics 2001-05
City of residence: Amsterdam
Interests: Travelling, languages, hiking, backpacking, kayaking, biking, anything outdoors!
Contact details: fereshteh_samsami at yahoo dot co dot uk


Who were your tutors?
Dr Matthew Turner was my personal tutor – he was really great!

Do you have any fond memories?
I loved the walk through the woods to the maths department, and the lake. I really enjoyed hiking with the Hill and Mountain Walking club and being president of the Linguistic Improvement and Practice Society – I have wonderful memories of having a hot chocolate in Xanana’s and speaking French and German. I really enjoyed meeting students from different countries. The time I spent one on one with lecturers asking questions was also very memorable.

Where did you live?
I lived in Arthur Vick my first year, Earlsdon my second and third years, and back on campus at Tocil my fourth year.

Were you a member of any societies?
I was a home student at Warwick but was very involved with the international student community. I volunteered at the International Student Orientation Week, lived with Erasmus students from Germany and Spain and was president of LIPSOC (Linguistic Improvement and Practice Society). I also loved the hiking weekends with the Hill and Mountain Walking club.

Contact Fereshteh if you want to attend or suggest an event in the Amsterdam area or want to make contact with the alumni community there.

fereshteh.jpg