Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Previous Research Seminars

Graduate research seminars: 2007/08 programme

The Film and Television Studies department hosted a wide-ranging series of graduate research seminars in the 2007/08 academic year. The full programme ran as follows:

  • Week 3 (17 Oct) Lee Grieveson (Reader in Film Studies, University College London): 'Cinema Studies and the Conduct of Conduct' 
  • Week 5 (31 Oct): Mette Hjort (Leverhulme Visiting Professor of Film Studies, St Andrews; Professor of Visual Studies, Lingnan University): ‘The “Advance Party” Initiative: Scottish/Danish Solutions to the Problems of Small-Nation Filmmaking’
  • Week 6 (7 Nov): Michael Raine (Assistant Professor in East Asian Languages and Civilizations, University of Chicago): 'Teen Musicals as Transcultural Mimesis: Japanese Studio Films of the 1950s'
  • Week 8 (21 Nov): Mandy Merck (Professor of Media Arts, Royal Holloway College): ‘Visual Pleasure and Narrative Cinema'
  • Week 10 (5 Dec) Lisa Purse (Lecturer in Film Studies, University of Reading): 'Reading the Digital: Mapping the Expansive Terrains of King Kong - the Film and the Body'
  • Week 3 (23 Jan) Andrew Hoskins (Department of Sociology, University of Warwick): 'The Mediatization of Memory'
  • Week 8 (27 Feb) Robert Lumley (Department of Italian, University College London): 'Working with Found Footage: the Films of Yervant Gianikian and Angela Ricci Lucchi'
  • Week 10 (12 Mar) Amy Holdsworth (School of Film, Television & Performing Arts, Leeds Metropolitan University): 'Televisual Memory'

  • Week 3 (7 May) Chris Meir (University of Birmingham): 'Raking Over Local Hero Again: Markets, Representation and Scottish Film History Reconsidered'
  • Week 7 (4 June) Faye Woods (London Metropolitan University): 'Music in Teen Television'


Other recent speakers have included Tytti Soila (Stockholm); Deborah Jermyn (Roehampton); Rachel Moseley (Warwick); Iris Kleinecke (Warwick); Gary Needham (Nottingham Trent); Jackie Stacey (Lancaster); Noll Brinckmann (Berlin); Tom Brown (Warwick); Andrew Higson (UEA); Anne Jerslev (Copenhagen); Tom Ryall (Sheffield Hallam); Belen Vidal (St Andrews); Diane Gabrysiak (Warwick); Romy Sutherland (LaTrobe University); Vanessa Toulmin (University of Sheffield); Maire Messenger Davies (University of Ulster, Coleraine); Joanne Hollows (Nottingham Trent University).