Skip to main content Skip to navigation

ABSPIE honors and awards

Awards, honors and prizes to the ABSPIE associates and postrag-students

  • Leandro Pecchia has been awarded:
    • 2020, Fellow of the International Union for Physical and Engineering Sciences in Medicine (IUPESM)
    • 2018, Clinical Engineering Best Paper Award, for the paper titled "Health Technology Assessment of Medical Devices in Low and Middle Income Countries: study design and preliminary results"
    • 2018, Honorary Member of the Bosnia and Herzegovina Medical and Biological Society, for “Outstanding Contribution to the development of Biomedical Engineering in Bosnia and Herzegovina”, March 2018
  • Rossana Castaldo (Research associate) has been awarded:
    • 2019, IFMBE Young Investigator Competition Award for the paper titled “Investigating the Use of Wearables for Monitoring Circadian Rhythms: A Feasibility Study”, during the last International Conference on Biomedical and Health Informatics 2019 (ICBHI 2019), held in Taipei, Taiwan, 17-20 April 2019. The paper is the result pf an EPSRC grant (PI Dr Leandro Pecchia) and was co-authored by R. Castaldo, M. Prati, L. Montesinos, V. Kulkarni, M. Chappell, P. Innominato (NHS Wales), S. Hughes (NHS Wales), H. Byrne (Oxford), L. Pecchia.
    • 2018, IET William James Award, October 2018
    • 2018, IAS Fellowship (.5 FET for 12 months)
    • 2017, Young Investigator Award 2017-Merit-June 2017, joined European Conference on Medical and Biological Engineering and North Baltic Conference 2017 (IFMBE EMBEC'17 & NBC'17), 11-15 June 2017, Tampere Finland
    • 2017, ABTA Doctoral Researcher Awards- Honourable Mention- May 2017
    • 2016, The runner-up prize in the Poster Competition School of Engineering Postgraduate Symposium- April 2016
    • 2015, Young Investigator Award 2015-Merit- June 2015 – World Biomedical Engineering and Medical Physics 2015, June 7-12, 2015, Toronto, Canada.
  • Silvio Pagliara (Research Fellow)
    • 2019, AAATE, is the Treasurer of the Association for the Advancement of Assistive Technology in Europe, elected in 2019 as Board Member (2020-21)
    • 2019, GLIC Italy: Vice President of the Italian Association of Assistive Technology Centres, board member elected in 2019 to 2021
  • Luis Montesinos (PhD stud 2015-19), was awarded
    • the PhD Studentship 10/2015 - 09/2019 from The Mexican National Council for Science and Technology (CONACyT) covering University international fees (£12,700 p.a.) and Annual stipend (£11,556 tax free)
    • Honourable Mention to the 2019 ABTA Doctoral Researcher Awards competition, held the University College London (UCL) in London, on Saturday, 11 May 2019
  • Mihaela Porumb (PhD stud 2016-20):
    • 2016, Travel Award for the Women in Machine Learning Conference, Co-Located with NIPS in Barcelona, Spain, December 5, 2016
    • 2017, Travel Award for the Women in Machine Learning Conference, Long Beach, California, 4-7 December 2017,
  • Davide Piaggio (PhD Stud 2018-22)
    • 2019, Best work in the category Global challenges, sustainable development, ICEHTMC 2019, Rome (Italy), 21-22 October 2019.
      o 2019, Student paper competition award, ICEHTMC 2019, Rome (Italy), 21-22 October 2019.
    • 2019, ABEC Design Competition Award, Scholarship for attending the ABEC Design School, Kampala (Uganda) from 7th to 11th October 2019
    • 2018, IFMBE Student Design Competition, Bronze Award, for the project titled “Innovative Health Technologies for low-resource settings: photopupillary reflex monitoring via smart phone”, World Congress on Medical Physics and Biomedical Engineering, June 3-8, 2018, Prague, Czech Republic.
  • Busola Oronti (PhD Student 2019-23)
    • 2020, Conference registration fee waiver for the CIFAR & Milla Deep Learning + Reinforcement Learning Summer School, Montreal, Quebec, Canada, (3rd – 7th August 2020)
    • 2019, The Laura Bassi Editorial Assistance Scholarship Award for junior academics. (Winter, 2019)
    • 2019, Conference registration fee waiver for the 3rd International Congress of Clinical Engineering and Health Technology Management, Rome, Italy. (21st - 22nd October 2019)
    • 2019, The Nigerian Government Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund) scholarship scheme for doctoral training and development for university teaching staff. (02/2019 – 02/ 2022)
  • Martina Andellini (PhD, 2019 - 23)
    • 2019, Best work in the category Health technology Assessment, AIIC 2019, Catanzaro (Italy), 16 – 18 May 2019.
    • 2019, Best work in the category Health technology Assessment, ICEHTMC 2019, Rome (Italy), 21-22 October 2019.
  • Hardip Boparai (PhD Stud 2020 - 24)
    • 2020, Fellow of Institute of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE)
    • 2020, Fellow of Engineering Council