Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Management team

Professor David Towers

Head of School

The Head of School is responsible for leading and co-ordinating the School’s senior management team and takes a strategic view of the School’s mission and activity. The Head is supported by senior colleagues who lead the School’s activities in academic and support functions and who steer the School’s strategic planning through their membership of the School Management Committee.

Professor Peter Gammon

Head of Research & Deputy Head of School

The Head of Research is responsible for research degrees and co-ordinating the School’s research portfolio; this activity is supported by the Director of Graduate Studies and the Research Office.

Professor Georgia Kremmyda

Head of Teaching & Deputy Head of School

Responsibility for taught degrees is devolved to the Head of Teaching who is supported by the Engineering Students Office (ESO), the Directors of Studies, Student Experience, Undergraduate Admissions and the International Recruitment Officers.

Amy Hamson

Director of Operations

The Senior Administrative Officer is responsible for all support functions of the School including administrative support, facilities, finance, HR, IT, marketing and technical services.

Claire Barratt
Executive Officer

The Management Team are supported by a dedicated Executive Officer who provides diary management support as well as leading on small projects within the School.

Discipline Streams

The School is structured into four Disciplines Streams for teaching and staff management:

Civil and Environmental
Stream Leader: Professor Stephen Hicks

Electrical and Electronic
Stream Leader: Professor Julian Gardner

Mechanical, Materials and Process
Stream Leader: Professor John Murphy

Systems and Information
Stream Leader: Professor Mike Chappell