Skip to main content

MIRaW – Participating Departments

  • Chemistry  
    Representative: Dr Scott Habershon
    Analytical, inorganic, organic, physical and theoretical chemistry.
  • Computer Science
    Representative: Dr Dmitry Chistikov
    Algorithms and complexity; semantics of programming languages and process calculus; empirical modelling; software engineering; artificial intelligence; high performance architecture, parallel systems and VSCI, image and signal processing.
  • Economics
    Representative: Dr Jonathan Cave
    Game theory; social choice theory; public economics; uncertainty and private information; applied microeconomic theory; innovation; tax econometrics; macroeconomic modelling.
  • Engineering
    Representative: Dr Mike Chappell
    Theoretical, computational and experimental fluid dynamics; applied control; optimisation and modelling; geometric control; advanced materials; optical engineering, neural computing.
  • Life Sciences 
    Representative: Dr Mike Tildesley
    Epidemiology, Plant Sciences
  • Mathematics 
    Representative: Prof Colm Connaughton
    Non-equilibrium statistical mechanics, fluid dynamics and turbulence, nonlinear waves, interacting particle systems.
  • Medical School
    Representative: Dr Stephen Royle
    Mechanochemical coupling in molecular motors; motorised molecular self-organisation in biological systems and in synthetic nanosystems; optical microscopy for for single molecule mechanics.
  • Physics
    Representative: Dr Animesh Datta
    Condensed matter physics; materials; Centre for Fusion, Space and Astrophysics; nonlinear systems; synergetics.
  • Psychology
    Representative: Prof Thomas Hills
    Judgement and decision making. Perceptual identification and categorisation. Perceptual learning.
  • Statistics
    Representative: Dr Martine Barons
    Decision theory, Bayesian statistics, design of decision support systems .
  • Warwick Business School
    Representative: Prof. Juergen Branke
    Operational research, optimisation under uncertainty, simulation, scheduling and logistics, game theory, multi-criteria decision making, finance, behavioural science, economic modelling and forecasting.
  • Warwick Manufacturing Group
    Representative: Dr Ed Brambley
    Biomedical and neural engineering; development of biomedical signal and pattern processing techniques; use of technological innovations to advance healthcare and promote wellbeing.
  • In addition, MIR@W interacts with many of the University's research centres (e.g. DIMAP, WDSI, SBIDER, CSC, MAS, CUSP, WCPM, CCS, AS&RU, DR@W, FDRC) and Global Research Priorities.
For further information contact:

MIRaW Programme Secretary
Mathematics Institute
Zeeman Building
University of Warwick
Coventry CV4 7AL, UK