Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Congratulations Class of 2016

Our Prizewinners

Graduation is always a special time, not just for our graduates and the families who have supported them, but also for the education and support staff who have followed these students through their time at WMS. As one of our MB ChB graduates, Aditi Tanna, put it: “It’s really like a little family. There’s a great team spirit and sense of determination.”

Last week, we saw our final year MB ChB students graduate alongside PhD and Masters students, and we were all fortunate enough to join them as they celebrated all that they had achieved during their time at Warwick. Graduation marks the culmination of years of hard work and effort. Emma Pearson, an MB ChB graduate summed it up: “After investing such a long time, it hasn’t really hasn’t sunk in yet that we’ve graduated.”

When asked what they would take away from their time at WMS, many graduates focussed on the friendships that they’d made: “There’s a great camaraderie. We all got through it together.” Max Hudson, MB ChB graduate. Others talked about the support and teaching they received: “The admin team were amazing, they would help with everything they possibly could” Dr Steve Laird, MPH graduate. One of our PhD graduates, Bernice Tighe, perhaps spoke for everyone when she said “It’s been a life-changing experience.”

Each year as part of the celebrations, we award a number of prizes to our MB ChB graduates in recognition of their achievements.

Dr Vishal Chauhan with Prof Sudhesh Kumar

Dr Vishal Chauhan pictured with Prof Sudhesh Kumar, Dean of Medicine

The Yvonne Carter Memorial Prize is given to the final year student who, in the opinion of the Pro Dean (Education) and the Head of MB ChB, has excelled at a discipline outside of their medical studies or has contributed to the life of the University of Warwick. This year’s winner has been responsible for a number of campaigns both on campus and in the local area.

Dr Vishal Chauhan set up the Rawkus project along with a small committee. Rawkus collects the tonnes food, toiletries, crockery and clothing left by students on campus, and donates it to local charities, who can make good use of items which would otherwise have been wasted.

In his final year, Vishal and a small group also set up a permanent homeless shelter in Leamington Spa, providing shelter, sustenance and support to the most disadvantages and needy of our community. Alongside his medical studies, he often spent several nights a week working at the shelter.

Dr Amritpal Sandhu was awarded the Harjinder Singh Medal, which goes to the student who had the highest total percentage for written and clinical examinations. This prize is donated by the WPH Charitable Trust and is named in honour of Harjinder Singh. The prize was awarded by Slinder Kaur (widow of Harjinder Singh) and Robert Blacklock of the WPH Charitable Trust.

Amritpal was also awarded the Faculty of Medicine Clinical Prize, which is given to the student which the highest total mark for clinical examination.

Amritpal with Robert Blacklock and Slinder Kaur

Dr Amritpal Sandhu with Robert Blacklock and Slinder Kaur

Florence Amey with Prof Sudhesh Kumar

Dr Florence Amey with Prof Sudhesh Kumar

The Faculty of Medicine Written Prize, which is awarded to the student with the highest aggregate percentage in total over the two written papers, was awarded to Dr Florence Amey.

Amy Burrows with Lara and Paul McCarthy

Dr Amy Burrows with Lara and Paul McCarthy

Dr Amy Burrows was awarded the M and J Prize for Consistent Performance throughout the MB ChB programme. The prize was presented by Lara McCarthy.

Stuart with Sudhesh Kumar

Dr Stuart O'Connor with Prof Sudhesh Kumar.

The Pridgeon Research Prize is awarded to the graduate who has undertaken research of the highest quality. Dr Stuart O’Connor, this year’s winner, recently conducted a pilot for an fMRI study of responses of postpartum women to emotional words, in the hope of predicting those at high and low risk of postnatal depression. His professionalism and commitment has led to him being published in a number of respected journals.

Alongside his own research, he has also successfully run the Warwick Academic Medicine Society, providing regular symposiums and extracurricular lectures for those interested in academic medicine. This included a live experiment at the National Wilderness Conference, where he subjected himself to a hypoxia machine in front of a live audience all in the name of inspiring others to undertake research.

Dr Holly Lomas was awarded the Outstanding Contribution to Student Life award in recognition of her tireless support of her fellow students. As student Welfare Officer and Student Staff Liaison Committee Representative, she has been at the forefront of student support. During results time, she has rallied round her colleagues to ensure they have the support they need in a difficult time. She is described as constantly striving to improve the student experience for the good of the cohort while often putting their needs ahead of her own.

Holly Lomas with Sudhesh Kumar

Dr Holly Lomas with Prof Sudhesh Kumar

Congratulations to all our prize winners and graduates!