Skip to main content Skip to navigation

MB ChB Prize Evening celebrates student success


The 2016 MB ChB Prize Evening took place last week, 1 December, celebrating the fantastic work and achievements of our students.

Hosted by our Pro-Dean for Education, Professor Lesley Roberts, the awards recognised students who have excelled in their course, as well as three members of staff nominated by our students for their inspiring teaching. Our guests were treated to a drinks reception and three-course meal in the Chancellor's Suite on campus before the awards were presented at the end of the night.

Congratulations to all our winners!

Take a look at our photos from the evening here (student/staff login required).

2016 prize winners

Year 1
Year 2
Student Selected Components
Claire Freeman Memorial Prize
Awards for Teaching Excellence

Year 1

maurice_dungey2.jpg naomi_fulton.jpg dylan_woolley.jpg
Top Mark: Year 1 Written Examinations
Top Mark: Year 1 Multiple Choice Question Paper

Maurice Dungey

Top Mark: Year 1 OSCE Examination

Naomi Fulton

Top Mark: Year 1 Short Answered Question Paper

Dylan Woolley


The Felicity Smith Group Prize
This award is made to the group who has, in the opinion of the Case-Based Learning facilitators, worked best towards Phase 1 of the course.
Winning group: Gemma Grime, Alison Leckie, Eilidh Mackenzie, Thomas Rawling, Thomas Shortland, Robert Stroud (unable to attend), George Young, Chloe Jackson

Year 2

Rory Stevens James Gilham
Top Mark - Year 2 Written Examinations

Rory Stevens

Top Mark - Year 2 OSCE Examination

James Gilham

SSCs (Student Selected Components): Top marks

Zero Balancing Francis Lily
Zero Balancing

Susanna Kallioinen, Ria Pereira

Clinical Ethics and Law

Afsaneh Behvand (unable to attend), Francis Winship

Getting Mindfulness into Clinical Practice

Lilly Kessler

Global Health
Nichola Awosika
Infectious Diseases & Tropical Medicine

Daniel McNamara

Introduction to Counselling Skills

Sonia Kumar, David Platts, Dhanya Salimkumar, Jenardan Sellathurai

Sophie Williams
Introduction to Medical Humanities

Sophie Evans, James Lancaster, Will Thomson

Peer Assisted Learning: An Introduction to Medical Education
Nyree Jackson
Pre-Hospital Trauma Care

Sophie Williams

Bethany Whittle
Louisa Sutton
From Bench to Bedside
Pooja Mohan, Rob Stroud (unable to attend)
The Medical Mind in Literature and Culture

Bethany Whittle

Introduction to Research

Louisa Sutton

Claire Freeman Memorial Prize

Claire Castanheira


Claire Freeman was a WMS student who sadly passed away during her first year of the MB ChB. She is remembered for her inspirational behaviour and support to friends and fellow students, and the Memorial Prize named after her is awarded annually to a student who demonstrates these attributes and displays inspirational leadership beyond the classroom.

The winner of the Claire Freeman Memorial Prize this year is Claire Castanheira, described as ‘a balanced, kind and caring woman’ who ‘epitomises a true leader’. She is pictured here with Claire's father Gary Freeman, who spoke to the audience during the event, and her mother Kate.

Awards for Teaching Excellence

Three awards were presented during the evening to members of staff nominated by our students for their excellent teaching.

Award for Teaching Excellence for a University-Based Teacher

Jamie Roebuck

Students nominating Jamie said:

  • ‘Jamie is excellent at teaching both in the lecture theatre and during anatomy sessions. He is very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and comes up with incredibly creative ways to get across difficult concepts. In addition, he is very approachable and makes you feel like there really is no such thing as a stupid question. He’s very encouraging and supportive even if a student gives an answer that is slightly incorrect, making it much easier to speak out and answer questions.'
  • ‘Always smiling, literally knows everything and if he doesn't (which never happens) he knows where to find it, genuinely cares about our development and wellbeing. Should be knighted for services to medical students’
  • ‘Jamie is able to seamlessly adapt his teaching style depending on the situation and environment. In the lecture theatre he is able to condense complex topics and themes into manageable segments that really do facilitate our learning.’
Jamie Roebuck

Award for Teaching Excellence in a Clinical-Based Setting (South Warwickshire Foundation Trust)

Ricky Jones

Students nominating Ricky said:

  • 'He took a lot of time to ensure we were all learning the required content during CCE2 and was extremely committed to student wellbeing.’
  • 'He made sure everything was organised for us on Mary Ward, and made us feel part of the team for our placement on CCE.’
  • 'The placement in Mary Ward at Warwick was my first attachment in CCE. Dr Jones spent a lot of his personal time organising the CCE attachment, taking time to help complete OSLERS and also held weekly reflection sessions. Very helpful, really approachable and a fantastic clinician with really great rapport with patients.’
  • 'He was 100% committed to us as students and was always available and keen to help. He made that particular placement enjoyable and very valuable.’
Award for Teaching Excellence in a Clinical-Based Setting (George Eliot Hospital)

Rajiv Nair

Students nominating Rajiv said:

  • ‘He is extremely thorough and really cares about training medical students into future doctors. He is so eager to share his knowledge and pass on useful tips.’
  • ‘Excellent practice during consultations. Gives clear, kind guidance to students and takes a genuine interest in teaching!’
  • ‘He goes beyond duty to help students.’
  • ‘Very compassionate towards patients, and really tries to pass on the skills needed on a ward.’