Skip to main content Skip to navigation

MB ChB Prizegiving celebrates student and staff success


The 2020 MB ChB Prizegiving Evening took place on 30 January, celebrating the fantastic work and achievements of our medical students over the last year and recognising teaching and personal tutoring excellence amongst our staff.

The evening was hosted by our our Pro-Dean for Education, Professor Lesley Roberts, in the Chancellor's Suite on campus. Introducing the awards, Professor Roberts said: "This event is a great opportunity to celebrate the successes of our students and teaching staff. This course is a challenge, as you know, and while the ultimate goal may be graduation, foundation training and becoming a doctor, it is important to recognise your achievements along the way."

Our guests were treated to a drinks reception and three course meal before the awards were presented at the end of the night. Congratulations to all our winners!

Take a look at the photos from the evening.

2020 prize winners

Phase 1 prizes
Phase 2 prizes
Claire Freeman Memorial Prize
Awards for Teaching Excellence
Personal Tutor Awards
GP Practice of the Year

Phase 1 prizes

Phase 1 Clinical Prize: Winner

Awarded for the overall best performance in the end of the Phase 1 OSCEs (Objective Structured Clinical Examinations).

Winner: Tobias Barnard


Phase 1 Clinical Prize: Commendation

Runner up: Joshua Wholey

Phase 1 Written Prize: Winner

Awarded to the person who has achieved the overall best performance in end of Phase 1 written exams (Short answer questions and multiple choice questions combined)

Winner: Emily Kidner

Phase 1 Written Prize: Commendation

Runner up: Karolina Rzeniewicz


Felicity Smith Group Prize

Awarded to the group who has, in the opinion of the Case Based Learning facilitators, worked best towards Phase 1 of the course.

Winners: Group 18: Joseph Collinson, Mohammad Froozani (unable to attend), Joanna Goodwin, Breanna Mindo, Thomas Dale Maclaine, Victoria Sajowa, Charlotte Simms, Jacob Smith and Charlotte Taylor

Phase 2 prizes


Phase 2 Clinical Prize: Winner

Awarded to the student who has achieved the overall best performance in the end of Phase 2 OSCEs.

Winner: Joseph Phillips


Phase 2 Clinical Prize: Commendation

Runner up: Felicity Davies


Phase 2 Written Prize: Winners

Awarded to the person or people who achieved the overall best performance in the end of Phase 2 written exams (Short answer questions and multiple choice questions combined).

Join winners: Katherine Kinnear and Hannah Reichel


SSC1 Prize: Winner

Awarded for the highest overall performance in SSC1 (Student Selected Component 1)

Winner: Georgia Gray


SSC1: Commendations

Runners up: George Hawker-Bond and Joe Phillips


SSC2 Written Report: Winner

Awarded for the overall best performance in SSC2 written submission

Winner: Daniel Murray


SSC2 Written Report: Commendation

Runner up: Stephanie Soyombo


SSC2 Poster Submission: Winner

Awarded for the overall best performance in SSC2 poster submission.

Winner: Isobel Hall


SSC2 Poster Submission: Commendations

Runners up: Anthony Harding and Charlotte Johnson


SSC2 Self Proposed Project

Awarded for the overall best overall performance in the SSC2 self proposed project.

Winner: Stephanie Soyombo


SSC2 Self Proposed Project: Commendations

Commendations: Isobel Daggitt and Leila Ellis (unable to attend)

Claire Freeman Memorial Prize

2020 winner: Mohammad Sahir


Claire Freeman was a WMS student who sadly passed away during her first year of the MB ChB. She is remembered for her inspirational behaviour and support to friends and fellow students, and the Memorial Prize named after her is awarded annually to a student who demonstrates these attributes and displays inspirational leadership beyond the classroom.

The winner of the Claire Freeman Memorial Prize this year is Mohammad Sahir, who received the greatest number of nominations ever received for a single student.

There were three main things which shone out in the nominations.

Firstly, several students mentioned Mohammed’s work with a charitable initiative which supports diabetes treatment for impoverished people living in Pakistan, providing them with access to diagnosis and treatment.

Secondly, several students commented on the work Mohammed has done in leading Regroup – the student-led peer teaching and support group for students facing resit examinations.

Finally it became apparent in nominations that others recognised in Mohammed a constant drive to work toward the support and betterment of others. In addition to his work in Pakistan and his leadership of Regroup, his contribution to the Widening Access to Medicine Society and his advocacy of his peer group at all levels was recognised.

Awards for Teaching Excellence

Award for Teaching Excellence for a University-Based Teacher

Winner: Emily Reid

Students nominating Emily said:

  • ‘Emily is always supportive and encouraging... she encourages students to aim high.'
  • 'Emily helps make everyone be the best version of themselves.'
  • 'Emily demonstrates absolute commitment to students as individuals.'
Award for Teaching Excellence for a University-Based Teacher

Commendation: Helen Jones

Students nominating Helen said:

  • - ‘Helen always goes the extra mile in her teaching.'
  • - 'Her lectures demonstrate careful planning to make them enjoyable and accessible for all.'
  • - 'She is highly learner centred – attentive to student questions and highly responsive.'
Award for Teaching Excellence for a University-Based Teacher

Commendation: Erin Fillmore

Students nominating Erin commented on:

  • Her availability and willingness to give of her time to help students
  • Her ability to make complex topics simple
  • Her recognition of different learning styles and ensuring her teaching works for everybody
amieAward for Teaching Excellence in the NHS

Winner: Dr Amie Burbridge

Students nominating Amie said:

  • - 'Amie is immediately friendly and engaging, critically enabling early confidence in students.'

  • - 'She empowers students to identify their own learning needs and supports them to achieve these.'

  • - 'She encouraged us to draw our own conclusions, taught us at a steady pace and encouraged us to take the lead.'

Personal Tutor awards

dcollinsPersonal Tutor Award
Winner: Dawn Collins

Students nominating Dawn said:

- 'She is an extremely kind woman who gives the kind of pastoral support every personal tutor should aspire to.’

- 'Without her support I would not have made it this far.’



Clinical Personal Tutor Award

Winner: Dr Maggie Curley

Students nominating Maggie said:

- ‘She is passionate about her role supporting future doctors’.
- 'She has ‘an endless supply of cases in her head, which she can pull up when you need to practise history taking.’
- 'She is open and welcoming – prepared to try to flex her own schedule to work with students.'

GP Practice of the Year


Winner: Woodview Medical Centre

Students nominating Woodview Medical Centre said:

- The practice went ‘above and beyond’ with respect to teaching.

- The practice stretched them and allowed them to develop confidence – allowing them to lead consultations but within a highly supportive context.

- Both Dr Ong and Dr Shah were commended for their dedication to delivering teaching through challenging consultation role play and case based discussions.

- Reception and administration staff were commended for their welcome and the interest they took in students, nursing staff supported clinical skill development and the whole team were recognised for providing a warm and supportive environment which enabled students to test themselves and develop academic, clinical and professional skills.