Skip to main content

Welfare and Communication Group

Responsible for:

  • Discussing issues and taking action to promote good working practices and equal opportunities for all staff and students in Physics.
  • Ensuring appropriate representation on the committee and taking steps to address any imbalances.
  • Oversight and monitoring of the Juno/Athena SWAN action plan, production of an annual report to staff and submission of Juno/Athena SWAN renewal documentation.
  • Delegating representation for Physics on the University Athena SWAN network.

The group has been refigured for the start of the 2018/19 academic year and the new membership is below:

Name Role within the Physics Department Email

David Leadley

Chair of Welfare and Communication Committee and Head of Department physics.head@warwick.ac.uk
Gavin Bell Academic staff Gavin.Bell@warwick.ac.uk
Katherine Branch Senior Administrative Officer

K.Branch@warwick.ac.uk 

Susan Burrows Athena/Juno representative S.E.Burrows@warwick.ac.uk 
Edward Butler-Caddle Postgraduate Student 2018-2022 Edward.Butler-Caddle@warwick.ac.uk
Aruni Fonseka Research fellow representative A.Fonseka.1@warwick.ac.uk
Ares Osborn Postgraduate Student 2018-2022 e.osborn@warwick.ac.uk
Michael Pounds Director of Student Experience M.Pounds@warwick.ac.uk
Ayesha Rahman Office Manager/HR Administrator A.Rahman@warwick.ac.uk
Matthew Turner Director of Graduate Studies, Member of Postgraduate SSLC m.s.turner@warwick.ac.uk
Rebecca Webb Postgraduate Student 2018-2022 R.K.Webb@warwick.ac.uk


Contacting the Committee

The committee meets every 3 months, and as required for award submissions. If there are any issues related to equality and fairness within the Physics Department that you would like to raise, please contact the Chair (David Leadley) or the Senior Administrative Officer (Katherine Branch).

Minutes and meeting papers available here