Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Welfare and Communication Group

Responsible for:

  • Discussing issues and taking action to promote good working practices and equal opportunities for all staff and students in Physics.
  • Ensuring appropriate representation on the committee and taking steps to address any imbalances.
  • Oversight and monitoring of the Juno/Athena SWAN action plan, production of an annual report to staff and submission of Juno/Athena SWAN renewal documentation.
  • Delegating representation for Physics on the University Athena SWAN network.

The membership of the Group is:

Name Role within the Physics Department Email

Mark Newton

Chair of Welfare and Communication Committee and Head of Department physics.head@warwick.ac.uk

Ahmed Abdelmotteleb

Postgraduate Student (Athena Swan representative) Ahmed.Abdelmotteleb@warwick.ac.uk

Eva-Maria Ahrer

Postgraduate Student (Wellbeing representative) Eva-Maria.Ahrer@warwick.ac.uk 

Antoine Allard

Research Fellow representative Antoine.Allard@warwick.ac.uk 

Falusho Balogun

Postgraduate Student (Ethnic Minorities representative) Helen.Balogun@warwick.ac.uk 

Katherine Branch

Senior Administrative Officer K.Branch@warwick.ac.uk 
TBC Academic staff  
Susan Burrows Athena/Juno representative S.E.Burrows@warwick.ac.uk 

Vanessa Emeka-Okafor

Postgraduate Student (Athena Swan representative) Vanessa.Emeka-Okafor@warwick.ac.uk 
Jorge Fernandez Fernandez Postgraduate Student (Wellbeing representative) Jorge.Fernandez-Fernandez@warwick.ac.uk 
Mo Ghani Postgraduate Student (Athena Swan representative) Mo.Ghani@warwick.ac.uk 
Reza Kashtiban Senior Research Fellow representative R.Jalilkashtiban@warwick.ac.uk
Helen Knight CDT & PGT Administrative Officer and Co-Chair of Warwick’s Stonewall self-assessment team H.J.Knight@warwick.ac.uk
James Lloyd-Hughes Director of Graduate Studies, Member of Postgraduate SSLC J.Lloyd-Hughes@warwick.ac.uk
Michael Pounds Director of Student Experience M.Pounds@warwick.ac.uk
Ayesha Rahman Office Manager/HR Administrator a.rahman@warwick.ac.ukLink opens in a new window
Ria Wilson Project Officer R.Wilson.7@warwick.ac.uk 
Contacting the Committee

The committee meets every 3 months, and as required for award submissions. If there are any issues related to equality and fairness within the Physics Department that you would like to raise, please contact the Chair (Mark Newton) or the Senior Administrative Officer (Katherine Branch).

Minutes and meeting papers available here
This year's meeting dates

20 September 2021

13 December 2021

15 March 2022

23 May 2022

19 September 2022