Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Events in Physics

Show all calendar items

Tom van Doorsselaere (KU Leuven): The forward modelling tool FoMo and how it can be used to advance solar coronal physics

- Export as iCalendar
Location: PS017

Co-authors: Patrick Antolin (St. Andrews), Ding Yuan (Harbin Institute of Technology),Norbert Magyar (KU Leuven), Kostas Karampelas (KU Leuven)

Abstract: In this talk, I will describe the open source numerical code FoMo. The code computes the radiation from optically thin plasma, such as the corona. It is a post-processing tool that converts \rho, T, \vec{v} from a simulation or analytical model to observables. I will give a brief overview on how to use it.

Then, I will focus on one particular topic where this code has been successful. As was previously found, transverse kink waves are Kelvin-Helmholtz unstable. Thus, when driving transverse waves at the footpoints of coronal loops, a turbulent regime will be created. I will use FoMo to show the observability of such turbulently heated coronal loops, which allow for direct comparison with the observations, using e.g. filling factors, DEM and spectral line modelling.

Tags: CFSA Seminar

Show all calendar items

Academic Leave Diary

Click here


Physics Days

Event listing

Research Group Events




Particle Physics



Condensed Matter Physics


Open Funder Deadlines

UKRI - Daphne Jackson Fellowship

Diamond Studentships 2024


UKRI Deadlines

Due to the implementation of a new UKRI funding system (TFS) there will be a fixed quarterly deadlines for some grants which would previously have been on open calls, this is to allow necessary system amendments and updates.

The first deadline after implementation will be 28th September 2023 and applies to those calls listed below:

EPSRC New Investigator Award

EPSRC Network Grant

EPSRC Post Doctoral Fellowship

EPSRC Open Fellowship

EPSRC Open Plus Fellowship

EPSRC Working with overseas scientists

EPSRC Standard research grant

EPSRC Discipline hopping in ICT

EPSRC Overseas travel grant