Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Statistics News and Events

Welcome to the News and Events page for the Department of Statistics.

Show all news items

Congratulations to our postdoctoral and postgraduate prizewinners

The winner of this year’s Faculty postdoctoral prize is Jure Vogrinc for "Counterexamples for optimal scaling of Metropolis-Hastings chains with rough target densities". The winner of this year’s Faculty Thesis Prize and John Copas Prize is David Selby (citation: for an extremely innovative and creative thesis on "Statistical modelling of citation networks, research influence and journal prestige". This is a very well-presented piece of work that stands out for its wealth of innovative ideas and the new insights it provides in this developing field.) Joint winners of this year’s Harrison Award are Lewis Rendell and Giorgos Vasdekis, both commended for their substantial theoretical and methodological contributions to computational statistics.

Wed 06 Oct 2021, 14:16 | Tags: Dept, Science, Faculty of Science