Please read our student and staff community guidance on COVID-19
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

University Calendar 2008-2009

This electronic version of the University Calendar 2008/09 represents a snapshot of the structure and regulatory framework of the University as at 1 December 2008. The online version of the Calendar will be updated as and when required.

Key changes to the University Regulations affecting students have been approved for 2009/10 with effect from 1 October 2009. These can be viewed here.

Table of Contents

Section 1

1.1 Dates of Term
1.2 Committee Timetable
1.3 Armorial Bearings of the University
1.4 Historical Note
1.5 Principal Officers
1.6 The Council and its Committees
1.7 The Senate and its Committees
1.8 Membership of Advisory Boards and Committees of Research Centres and Institutes
1.9 Faculty Advisory Boards
1.10 Departmental Advisory Boards
1.11 Boards of Faculties and Sub-Faculties
1.12 Assembly


Section 2

2.1 Charter and Statutes
2.1.1 Second Schedule 1
2.1.2 Second Schedule 2
2.2 Ordinances
2.3 Regulations
2.4 Standing Orders of the Council
2.5 Standing Orders of the Assembly
2.6 Constitutions of University Centres & Institutes


Section 3

3.1 Departmental List of Academic Staff
a Faculty of Arts
b Faculty of Medicine
c Faculty of Science
d Faculty of Social Sciences
3.2 Emeritus Professors
3.3 Emeritus Readers
3.4 Academic Service Departments Staff Lists
3.5 Administrative Departments Staff Lists
3.6 Senior Posts not under Departmental Headings
3.7 University Auditors, Robemakers, Bankers and Solicitors
3.8 Wardens and Resident Tutors
3.9 Local Branches of Recognised Trade Unions
3.10 Union of Students


Section 4

4.1 Student Fees
4.2 Degrees and Diplomas Awarded by the University
4.3 University Awards and Prizes
4.4 Academic Dress
4.5 Honorary Graduates of the University