Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

University Estate Committee

 Jump down to MembershipMembership
Jump down to Terms of ReferenceTerms of Reference
Jump down to Reporting StructureReporting Structure
Jump down to SecretariatSecretariat
Jump down to MeetingsMeetings

Membership 2020/21 - subject to approval at the Council meeting on 14 October 2020

An independent member of the Council (Chair)

Adrian Penfold

The Vice-Chancellor and President

Professor Stuart Croft

The Provost (and current Chair of the Capital, Space and Amenities Group)

Professor Christine Ennew

The Registrar

Rachel Sandby-Thomas

Three independent members appointed by the Council, with relevant expertise, of whom a minimum of one will be a serving independent member of the Council

Yewande Akinola (2021)
Bal Claire (2021)
Trudi Elliott (2021)
Richard Hyde (2021)

Two members of the Academic staff, appointed by the Vice-Chancellor

Professor Naomi Brookes (2023)
Dr Lucy Hammond (2023)
Professor David Mullins (2022)

A representative of the Quality and Design Sub-Group

James Breckon
A Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor or Academic Vice-President, appointed by the Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Simon Swain

The Group Finance Director

Rosie Drinkwater

Two Student representatives, nominated by the Students' Union

Luke Mepham (2021)


Akosua Sefah (2021)

The Chair of the Capital, Space and Amenities Group co-opted where such individual is not otherwise a member of the Committee

Not applicable - see above

NB: The year after a member's name indicates that their term of office expires on 31 July of that year.

In Attendance

Capital Programmes Director, Estates
Chief Finance Officer, Estates
Development Plan Architect
Head of Strategy, Programme Delivery & Governance, Estates
Senior Assistant Registrar, Space Management & Timetabling

Return to top

Terms of Reference

1. To keep under review the development, condition, design, utilisation, performance and sustainability of the University Estate.

To recommend to the Council:

2. The University Masterplan and related strategies.

3. The acquisition and disposal of freehold and long leasehold land and buildings subject to the release of appropriate funding by the Financial Plan Sub-Committee or the Finance and General Purposes Committee; and the consent of the Council in any case which represented any significant departure from the University Masterplan or the Capital Plan.

4. Proposals for new buildings and significant capital redevelopments with a value in excess of £1m.

To approve:

5. Quality, design and environmental standards for major land, campus or capital developments and maintenance projects, through the approval of the RIBA Stage 3 Design on the recommendation the Quality and Design Sub-Group.

6. The naming of significant buildings/rooms not agreed as donor assets, on the recommendation of the University Executive Board or the Capital, Space and Amenities Group, as appropriate.

To receive:

7. The University Capital Plan.

8. Estates-related key performance indicators and benchmarks, and to monitor the performance of the University Estate against internal targets and sector norms, and in compliance with legislative and regulatory requirements.

9. Estates related strategies as approved by the University Executive Board, including, but not limited to: Accommodation, Carbon, Energy, Environmental/Sustainability, Travel and Transport.

10. Reports from the Capital, Space and Amenities Group and the Quality and Design Sub-Group.

[Changes to the University Estate Committee terms of reference were last approved by the Council on 12 February 2020]

Reporting Structure

The University Estate Committee (UEC) reports to the Council and occasionally to the Finance and General Purposes Committee.


UEC has established the following two sub-groups which report into the Committee: the Capital Space and Amenities Group (CSAG) and the Quality and Design Sub-Group (QDSG).

Click here to see a diagrammatic representation of the Committee Structure.

Return to top


Secretary: Sharon Tuersley, Secretary to Council
(S dot Tuersley at warwick dot ac dot uk or ext: 51957)

Assistant Secretary: Sophie Black, Assistant Registrar (Governance)

Correspondence should be sent to UEC at warwick dot ac dot uk.

Return to top


Dates of meetings of UEC can be found within the University Committee Timetable.

The Timetable is published and updated online and should be referred to when verifying arrangements through the academic year.

The timetable for submission of papers to UEC is available here 

Templates for papers should be requested from the email above.

Click here to access minutes of previous meetings.

Return to top