Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Our Awards

As a department both staff and students have received numerous awards that recognise our excellence in teaching, community engagement, and our numerous other activities.

Teaching Excellence

The Warwick Award for Teaching Excellence, which rewards outstanding and inspirational teaching, has been awarded to both Clare Rowan and Michael Scott. Alison Cooley has received the Butterworth Memorial Teaching Award. In 2017 postgraduate student Kathryn Thompson was awarded a Warwick Award for Teaching Excellence for Postgraduates who Teach. Michael Scott has also been awarded a National Teaching Fellowship, the highest award within university teaching in the UK.

Public Engagement and Global Contribution

In 2018 the Classics and Ancient History department (staff and students) was awarded the University Public Engagement Award in recognition of all our efforts and activities in the local community and beyond.

Suzanne Frey-Kupper has been awarded a university Global Contribution Award for her work in the field of numismatics (the study of coins). Michael Scott has been awarded a university Award for Community Contribution.

Student Awards

In 2018 undergraduate Hannah Thorpe was awarded the Warwick SU Societies’ Award for Outstanding Contribution by an Individual. In the same yearthe student run Classics Society won Warwick SU Societies' Award for Best Event for their production of Medea at the Belgrade Theatre in Coventry.

And more!

Many more of our staff and students have been shortlisted or highly commended for other awards - Alison Cooley for the University Award for Inspirational Leadership, Zahra Newby for Student Experience. Clare Rowan has been awarded numerous teaching awards in Australia, including an Australian Learning and Teaching Council Award for Programmes that Enhance Learning. Michael Scott is an honory citizen of Delphi and is currently president of the largest Classics association branch in the UK.

public engagement award

Staff and students in the department receiving the University Public Engagement Award.


Scene from Medea, which received the Student Union Best Event Award.

hannah thorpe

Hannah Thorpe and her award for Outstanding Contribution by an Individual.