Skip to main content

James Kermode's Research Group

Current group members

  • Dr James Kermode (PI). James' principal research interests are in the development of multiscale materials modelling algorithms and the software that implements them. His work applies this parameter-free modelling to make quantitative predictions of "chemomechanical" materials processes such as fracture and dislocation motion.
PhD Students
  • Punit Patel (PhD Student, October 2015-). Punit's PhD project has the ultimate aim of using atomistic simulations to add uncertainty quantification capabilities to continuum crack growth models.
  • Stela Makri (PhD Student, October 2015-). Stela's PhD project is focussed on numerical analysis of transitition state search methods for rare events. She is co-supervised by Prof. Christoph Ortner in Mathematics.
  • James Brixey (Diamond CDT Student, October 2017-). James is currently doing the MSc year at the Diamond Science and Technology CDT. From 2018 he will be conducting research on interaction between cracks and defects in diamond.
Project Students
  • Yijie Zhao (Advaned Mechanical Engineering MSc Student, 2017-18). Yijie's project involves uncertainty quantification for a random defect model of crack growth in crystals.

See also the Warwick Centre for Predictive Modelling People pages

    Former group members

    • Matt Toland (BEng project student, 2017/18). Matt's project involved designing teaching activities for the Dynamics of Vibrating System (ES386) laboratory.
    • Philip Marsh (BEng project student, 2017/18). Philip's project focussed on uncertainty quantification for finite element analysis calculations.
    • Lewis Robbins (BEng project student, 2017/18). Lewis' developed an implementation of a random fuse model for crack propagation.
    • Dr Letif Mones (Postdoc, Sept 2017-Feb 2018). Letif was funded by ARCHER eCSE project 11-7 to implement preconditioned geometry optimisers in the CASTEP and ONETEP codes.
    • Zhihua Song (BEng Project Student 2016-17; URSS placement Summer 2017). Zhihua's project involved modelling defects in Ni-based superalloys with density functional theory.
    • Sebastian Potthoff (CSC MSc Student 2015/16). Sebastian's Centre for Scientific Computing MSc project involves the development of efficient transitition state search algorithms for use in electronic structure codes.
    • Harry Tunstall (Chemistry, Materials GRP summer scholarship 2016). Harry worked on uncertainty quantification for kinetic models of surface defects and catalysis, co-supervised by Dr Scott Habershon.
    • Avantika Jhanji (School of Engineering, Materials GRP summer scholarship 2015). Avantika worked on atomistic modelling of graphene/polymer nanocomposite fracture, co-supervised by Dr Lukasz Figiel.
    • John Woolley (Department of Physics, Materials GRP summer scholarship 2015). John's project designed and tested preconditioners to speed up atomistic calculations, co-supervised by Dr David Quigley in Physics and Prof. Christoph Ortner in Mathematics.
    • David Lees (BEng Project Student, 2015/16). David's project, Multiscale Materials Modelling for Silicon devices, was focussed on computing defect migration rates using quantum and classical atomistic methods.
    • Ascanio Macchi di Cellere (BEng Project Student 2015/16). Ascanio's project on uncertainty quantification for structural models of nano-composites was co-supervised by Dr Lukasz Figiel from the Nanocomposites Modelling Group in WMG.