Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Congratulations Class of 2019!


Our 2019 summer graduation took place last week, 18 July, celebrating the fantastic achievements of our MB ChB, Master's and PhD students.

The day kicked off with a special breakfast event hosted by our Dean, Professor Sudhesh Kumar, for our MB ChB students graduating with Honours. Following the morning's degree ceremony in the Butterworth Hall, all of our new graduates were invited to join us for a celebration lunch in the Rootes Building, where special prizes were awarded for graduates who had excelled during their time at Warwick.

See the photos from the day. (staff and students only)


Best overall mark, Master's in Medical Education

Michael Tilby

Best overall mark, Master's in Health Sciences

Gillian Mitchell

clinical prize

WMS Clinical Prize

Dr Georgina Mynott and Dr Marianne Stoker

The WMS Clinical Prize is for the student or students with the highest total mark for clinical examination.


WMS Written Prize

Dr Will Harper

The WMS Written Prize goes to the student with the highest aggregate percentage in total over the two written papers.

mdungeyHarjinder Singh Medal

Dr Maurice Dungey

The Harjinder Singh Medal is awarded to the student who had the highest total percentage for written and clinical examinations.

amountDebbie Ranger Elective Memorial Prize

Dr Alexander Mount

The Debbie Ranger Elective Memorial Prize is awarded in the memory of a dear friend and colleague of Warwick Medical School who sadly passed away in 2017. Debbie loved to travel and had many adventures herself overseas in her all too short life. She loved working at the Medical School and being involved with the MB ChB programme, which she annually volunteered to be part of the selection process for.

The winner of the Debbie Ranger Elective Memorial Prize this year, Dr Alexander Mount, chose to undertake an elective in emergency medicine in Uganda as he wanted to learn more about how different cultural perspectives shape clinical care and experience first-hand emergency care provision in a resource limited context. The resulting reflective report stood out for many reasons – as well as developing a clear understanding of challenges to delivery in such a setting, Alexander used this opportunity to consider aspects of patient advocacy and working with colleagues with different priorities and ways of working with a very clear sense of how this experience will transfer and influence his clinical work in the UK.

afinnElective report undertaken in a high resource setting

Dr Alex Finn

Alex chose to undertake her project with the Essex and Herts Air Ambulance Team focusing on pre-hospital emergency care. This team covers rural, coastal and urban areas giving a varied and complex remit. Alex undertook a literature review to inform the team about best evidence in hypothermic coagulopathy among trauma patients and produced a reflection on the challenges to generation of a robust evidence base and therefore associated guidelines relating to pre-hospital care, despite this clearly being a critical intervention period.

nkentThe Pridgeon Research Prize

Dr Niall Kent and Dr Niall Lally (unable to attend)

The Pridgeon Research Prize is awarded to the graduate(s) who have undertaken research of the highest quality as selected by the Head of Medical Education, the Director of Postgraduate Research and the Pro Dean Education.

Dr Niall Kent was selected for the Pridgeon prize on the basis of significant work he has undertaken to develop a novel biomedical material, a bioactive aerogel. Niall published five research papers during his time as a medical student, including two as first author.

Dr Niall Lally has published six papers in high ranking journals during his time at Warwick Medical School, including two in the Journal of Affective Disorders and a first author paper in the Journal of Neuroscience.

lkesslerThe Yvonne Carter prize

Dr Lilly Kessler

The Yvonne Carter Prize is awarded each year to the final year student who, in the opinion of the Pro Dean Education and Head of MB ChB, has excelled at a discipline outside of their medical studies or has contributed to the life of the University of Warwick.

Lilly has demonstrated exceptional and inspirational leadership both inside and outside Warwick Medical School during the last four years. Foremost among Lilly’s many achievements is her work with the charity Street Doctors. Street Doctors aims to equip young people with the tools to help victims of violent crime by teaching at-risk young people life-saving first-aid.

Throughout her time at WMS, Lilly championed the rights of students; she consistently took time from her busy schedule to listen to and encourage feedback from students. She worked hard to assist people at every opportunity, and to help improve student experience and course content at WMS.

Lilly took on a substantial and incredibly valuable pastoral role for students within her own cohort and in others, including mentoring several students who were re-sitting their exams. Additionally, Lilly was an active member of the Mindfulness Society committee for four years and helped run and organise many events that have benefitted student wellbeing at WMS.

jthorntonDean's Exceptional Achievement Award

Dr James Thornton

This year 8,137 students applied through the UK Foundation Programme Office for their foundation post. Warwick students, now graduates, did exceptionally well, with our graduating cohort positioned second in the UK nationally based on mean score. James was the highest scoring student in the whole of the UK, coming first out of over 8,000 applicants. In recognition of this outstanding achievement we were delighted to award James with the Dean's Exceptional Achievement Award.

Henry Parsey Psychiatry Prize

Dr Niall Lally (unable to attend)

The Henry Parsey Psychiatry Prize is given for excellence in Psychiatry.

Certificate of Outstanding Achievement

Dr Evonne Ng (unable to attend)

Dr Evonne Ng was awarded a certificate of distinction for scoring 96% in her national Prescribing Safety Assessment.