Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Research Executive


The Research Executive team is led by Professor Caroline MeyerLink opens in a new window (Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research) and consists of the following people:

Professor Caroline Meyer

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Caroline Meyer is responsible for academic leadership of the research portfolio and strategy at the University of Warwick. Caroline has been instrumental in supporting and maintaining Warwick’s research excellence. Caroline is responsible for the University’s refreshed Research Strategy. She is supported by a Research Executive team.

Tel: 024 76 5 74463

Professor Jackie Hodgson

Deputy Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research (Arts, Social Sciences and Interdisciplinarity)

Professor, Law

Research Executive Portfolio:
  • Global Research Priorities
  • Research Communications
  • City of Culture
  • Digitisation and Culture and Digital Humanities
  • GCRF (Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences)
  • Liaison with AHRC and ESRC
  • Lead on interdisciplinary projects (e.g. Centre for Mental Health)
Other Remits:
  • Chair of GRP Steering Group
  • Chair of City of Culture Research Group
  • Chair of ESRC IAA Steering Committee
  • Member of the REF Executive Steering Group
  • Member of Research Committee
  • Representative on Education Executive
  • Member of Cultural Partnerships Programme Board
  • Member of Academic Processes Review Group
    Tel: 024 76 5 24163

    Professor Kerry Kirwan

    Deputy Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research (Knowledge Exchange and Partnerships)

    Professor, WMG

    Research Executive Portfolio:
    • Industry and Innovation
    • Knowledge Exchange Framework programme
    • Strategic Alliances and Partnerships for Research, including Monash and Europe
    • Industrial Strategy Challenge Fund and Innovate UK funding and strategy
    • GCRF (Sciences)
    • Liaison with the Alan Turing Institute
    Other Remits:
    • Alan Turing Institute Board Trustee
    • Warwick Representative for Midland Innovation
    • Chair of ERA Committee
    • Chair of the Energy Visions Group
    • Member of REF Executive Steering Group
    • Member of Research Committee
    • Member of Monash Warwick Alliance Steering Group
    • Member of European Advisory Board
    Tel: 07775 534 348

    Professor David Leadley

    Deputy Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Research (Infrastructure and Ethics)

    Professor, Physics

    Research Executive Portfolio:
    • Research Infrastructure
    • Research Technology Platforms (RTPs)
    • Technician’s Commitment
    • Research Integrity, Governance & Ethics
    Other Remits:
    • Chair of the University Research Governance & Ethics Committee
    • Member of the REF Executive Steering Group
    • Member of Research Committee
    Tel: 024 76 5 24114

    Professor Sotaro Kita

    Academic Director for Research Culture

    Professor, Psychology

    Research Executive Portfolio:
    • Research Culture
    • Equality, Diversity and Inclusion
    • International projects
    Other Remits:
    • Member of Research Committee
    • Deputy Chair of Research Culture Forum
    • Member of Race Equality Taskforce
    • Member of Assembly Working Party on Anti-Semitism and Racism
    • Chair of HR Excellence in Research Working Group
    Tel: 024 765 28184

    Dr Navdeep Bains

    Deputy Director, Research & Impact Services


    Sarah Hall

    Head of Research Impact

    • Sarah Hall leads the Research Impact Team and is a member of Research & Impact Services’ Senior Management Team.
    • She has worked to support research, enterprise and impact in higher education for the past 10 years, following a 20 year career in journalism, marketing and public relations.
    • Sarah joined Warwick in 2018.
    Tel: 024 765 72991 / 07963 269 992

    Lucy Goulding

    Senior PA (PVC Research) and Secretary of Research Executive

    • Lucy provides PA support to the Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
    • She is the Secretary of Research Executive and supports the group with the co-ordination of meetings and administration

    Tel: 024 76 5 74463