Skip to main content Skip to navigation

New Years Honours 2024

Huge congratulations to a host of Warwick alumni who have received awards as part of the 2024 Kings New Year’s Honours. The list marks the achievements and service of extraordinary people across the UK.

Honorary Graduate, Sir Gregory Doran, Emeritus Artistic Director Royal Shakespeare Company, has been given a knighthood for services to the arts, following a 36 year career with the renowned theatre company. Author and Honorary Graduate Dr Jung Chang has been awarded a CBE for services to Literature and History having authored a number of international bestsellers, including a book based on the experiences and repression endured by three generations of women in 20th-century Communist China.

Alum and Deputy Director at the Department for Culture, Media and Sport Legal Advisers, Simon Travor Regis (BA Law and Sociology, 1995), has been awarded a CBE for services to Legislation for his work on high-profile legislation, particularly during the government’s COVID-19 response.

Further members of our alumni community awarded honours include:

  • Vivien Waterfield CBE (PG Dipl Organised Change, 2023) Deputy Chief Executive, Home-Start, awarded a CBE for services to Early Years Learning.
  • Dr Chandra Mohan Kanneganti CBE (MSc Medical Leadership, 2012) General Practitioner, Goldenhill Medical Centre, was awarded a CBE for services to General Practice.
  • Professor Joseph Gerard Nellis CBE (MA Economics, 1979) Professor of Global Economy, School of Management Cranfield University, awarded a CBE for services to Higher Education, to Economics, to Business and to Charity.
  • Dr Andi Hoxhaj OBE (LLM International Corporate Governance and Financial Regulation, 2013; PhD Law, 2017) for his contributions to UK and Albania relations.
  • Dr Kathryn Marks OBE (PG Dipl Digital Leadership, 2023) Deputy Director, Environment Agency awarded an OBE for services to Flood Risk Management and to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion.
  • Zehra Zaidi OBE (LLB Law, 1997 and LLM Advanced Legal Studies, 2016) awarded an OBE for services to International Development, to Humanitarian Action and to Community Cohesion.
  • Jane Alison Betsworth MBE (BA QTS Arts Ed, 1989) Headteacher of Millfields Community School, awarded an MBE for services to Education.
  • Paula Deas MBE (Dipl Public Leadership and Management, 2005) Deputy Chief Executive, Coventry and Warwickshire Local Enterprise Partnership, awarded an MBE for services to the community in the West Midlands.
  • Keith Wyn Sorrell MBE (MA Sociology of Education, 1998) Chief Executive Officer, Windsor Academy Trust, awarded an MBE for services to Education.
  • David Walker MBE (Cert Ed, 1975 (Coventry College of Education), BEd, 1987 and Cert Investigations in Science for Middle Years, 1985) Chair of Trustees, Horizons Specialist Academy Trust, awarded an MBE for services to Education.
  • Dr Emma Wilson MBE (BA English and American Literature, 1988) Director of Technical, Production and Costume, Royal Opera House awarded an MBE for services to the Performing Arts.

From more than 1,200 people in the King's 2024 New Year’s Honours List, we have identified 13 of those as Warwick alumni. If you received an honour and are not included here, please accept our apologies and congratulations. We’d love to celebrate your achievement, so please do contact us at alumni at warwick dot ac dot uk.