Coronavirus (Covid-19): Latest updates and information
Skip to main content Skip to navigation

TIA Centre: Our Team

Core Faculty

Nasir RajpootNasir Rajpoot
Director, TIA Centre

Computer Science

Abhir BhaleraoAbhir Bhalerao
Associate Professor (Reader)
Computer Science

DavidDavid Epstein
FRS - Emeritus Professor

Hakan FerhatosmanogluHakan Ferhatosmanoglu
Computer Science

Fayyaz MinhasFayyaz Minhas
Assistant Professor
Computer Science

Shan RazaShan Raza
Assistant Professor
Computer Science

David SneadDavid Snead
Director (PathLAKE CoE)

Medical School

Associate Faculty

Theo ArvanitisTheo Arvanitis

Andrew NelsonAndrew Nelson
Associate Professor
School of Life Sciences

Ioannis NezisIoannis Nezis
School of Life Sciences

Tom SorellTom Sorell
Politics and Philosophy

Lawrence YoungLawrence Young
Medical School

Research Fellows & Graduate Students

Rawan AlbusayliRawan Albusayli
PhD Student

Hammam AlghamdiHammam Alghamdi
PhD Student

Amina AsifAmina Asif
Research Fellow

Ruqayya AwanRuqayya Awan
PhD Student

Ayesha AzamAyesha Azam
PhD Student

Saad BashirSaad Bashir
PhD Student

Mohsin BilalMohsin Bilal
Senior Research Fellow

Muhammad DawoodMuhammad Dawood
PhD Student

Srijay DeshpandeSrijay Deshpande
PhD Student

Jevgenij GamperJevgenij Gamper
PhD Student

Simon GrahamSimon Graham
Senior Research Fellow

Gozde Gunesli NoyanGozde Gunesli Noyan
PhD Student

Mostafa JahanifarMostafa Jahanifar
Research Fellow

Rob JewsburyRob Jewsbury
PhD Student

Wenqi LuWenqi Lu
Research Fellow

John PocockJohn Pocock
PhD Student

Manahil RazaManahil Raza
MRes Student

Mary Shapcott

Mary Shapcott
PhD Student

Adam ShephardAdam Shephard
Research Fellow

Dang VuDang Vu
PhD Student

Noorul WahabNoorul Wahab
Research Fellow

Ruoyu WangRuoyu Wang
PhD Student

Made WibawaMade Satria Wibawa
PhD Student

Neda ZamanitajeddinNeda Zamanitajeddin
Research Assistant

Admin and IT team

Johnathan BreddyJohnathan Breddy
Senior Project Manager

Hannah BlackburnHannah Blackburn
PathLAKE Centre Coordinator

John EuintonJohn Euinton
Systems Administrator

George HadjigeorghiouGeorge Hadjigeorghiou
Software Developer

Clinical Affiliates

  • Prof Ian Cree (Head of the Tumor Classification Group, IARC, WHO, France)
  • Dr Hesham Eldaly (Consultant Histopathologist, UHCW NHS Trust, Coventry)
  • Dr Kishore Gopalakrishnan (Consultant Histopathologist, UHCW NHS Trust, Coventry)
  • Dr Michael Khan (Warwick Medical School & Director of The Coronary Prevention and Dyslipidaemia Services, UHCW NHS Trust, Coventry)
  • Dr Ali Khurram (Senior Lecturer & Honorary Consultant Pathologist, School of Clinical Dentistry, University of Sheffield)
  • Dr Hanya Mahmood (NIHR Academic Clinical Fellow in Oral Surgery, University of Sheffield)
  • Dr Mohammed Nimir (Pathology Trainee, UHCW NHS Trust, Coventry)
  • Prof Emad Rakha (University of Nottingham)
  • Dr Yee-Wah Tsang (Consultant Histopathologist, UHCW NHS Trust, Coventry)


  • Mieke Zwager (Visiting student during 2020 from UMCG, Netherlands)
  • Navid Alemi Koohbanani (PhD, Jan 2021; now at
  • Muhammad Shaban (PhD, Dec 2020; now Postdoc Fellow at the Harvard Medical School, USA)
  • Simon Graham (PhD, Oct 2020; now Data Scientist at the University of Warwick, UK)
  • Dr Hadi Saki (Senior Research Fellow 2019-20; now at Digital Catapult London, UK)
  • Talha Qaiser (PhD, Apr 2019; now Postdoc Fellow at Imperial College London, UK) Faculty Thesis Prize 2019
  • Dr Moazam Fraz (Rutherford Postdoc Fellow 2018-19)
  • Najah Alsubaie (PhD, Jan 2019; now Assistant Professor at the Princess Nourah University, KSA)
  • Dr Sajid Javed (Postdoctoral Fellow 2017-18)
  • Anna Lisowska (MPhil student, 2017-18)
  • Tzu-Hsi Song (PhD, Sep 2017; now Postdoc Fellow at the Worcester Polytechnic Institute, USA)
  • Nicholas Trahearn (PhD, Dec 2016; now Postdoc Fellow at the Institute of Cancer Research London, UK)
  • Korsuk Sirinukunwattana (PhD, Mar 2016; now at the Uni of Oxford, UK) Faculty Thesis Prize 2017
  • Guannan Li (PhD, Jan 2016; now CEO of a startup in China)
  • Violeta Kovacheva (PhD, Dec 2015; now at Nimbus Maps, UK)
  • Samuel Jefferyes (PhD, Jan 2015; now Development Lead at the CME Group, UK)
  • Adnan Khan (PhD, 2014; formerly at the Institute of Cancer Research London, UK) Faculty Thesis Prize 2015
  • Shan-e-Ahmed Raza (PhD, Feb 2014; now Assistant Professor at the University of Warwick, UK)
  • PC Suraj Bangalore-Nagaraj (MRes 2011; now Senior Product Leader at BoroughBox, UK)
  • Nerin George (MSc 2010; now Web Software Developer at the Cademix Institute of Technology, Austria)
  • Vinay Kalasannavar (MSc 2010; now Director at Kalasannavar Consulting Services Ltd, UK)
  • Khalid Masood (PhD 2010; now Associate Professor at the Lahore Garrison University, Pakistan)
  • Irfan Butt (MSc 2009; now Lead Software Engineer at Ejada, KSA) Best Thesis Prize
  • Adnan Osmani (MRes 2009; now Engineering Manager at Google)
  • Hammad Qureshi (PhD 2009; now Image Analysis Scientist at Cirdan Ltd, UK)
  • Zhen Yao (PhD 2007; now General Manager at Hangzhou Trailcatcher Creative Ltd, China)