Skip to main content

Physics Department News

Pettifer Prize 2017


The Pettifer Prize is presented annually to the Physics student with the best overall performance in first year examinations, and it honours the memory of Dr Robert Pettifer, who joined the department in 1972 until his retirement due to ill-health in 2007.

The prize was presented by David Leadley and also by Robert’s wife, Mary Pettifer.

The winner this year was Nicholas Metcalfe.

More information on the prize can be found at

Tue 31 October 2017, 12:10 | Tags: Undergraduates, Awards

New Undergraduates in October 2017

Congratulations on your success at A-level! We are looking forward to welcoming you to the Department in October.

Please read our pages for new students. There are links to information about matriculation and getting started, and to some excercises we would like you to look at before you get here.

Mon 17 July 2017, 10:06 | Tags: Undergraduates

Easter Planetarium shows

17, 19 & 21 April

Experience a show in the Physics inflatable planetarium and hear from the Warwick astronomers who use it to deliver outreach.

Free; booking is essential.

Physics Department Teaching Award


Dr Neil Wilson was the recipient of the 2015-16 Physics Department Teaching Award as voted for by students. He was presented with the award by David Leadley, Head of Department on 11th October 2016. His name has been added to the list of prize-winners on the new board on the Physics Concourse.


Mon 17 October 2016, 10:53 | Tags: announcements, Undergraduates, Staff and Department, Awards

Older news