Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Research News

Select tags to filter on

University Awards longlist and WATE PGR shortlist

Congratulations to the members of the department who have been nominated for individual and team University Awards, and the postgraduates nominated for WATE (PGR).

Physics nominees include Duncan Brealey, Rosalind Johnstone, Monica Ciomaga Hatnean, James Gott, Richard Henshaw, and a number of teams.

Wed 01 May 2019, 09:15 | Tags: Awards

Paul Goddard wins Teaching Award 2017/18

All undergraduates in the Department were invited to vote for who they would like to win the Physics Department Teaching Award 2017/18. The winner was Paul Goddard. The Head of Department, David Leadley, presented the award to Paul in one of his lectures this term.


Paul also won the Award in 14/15. The other winners have been: Neil Wilson (15/16) and Martin Lees (16/17).

Wed 20 Feb 2019, 13:57 | Tags: Undergraduates, Awards

Pettifer Prize 2017-18


The Pettifer Prize is presented annually to the first year Physics student with the best overall examination performance. It honours the memory of Dr Robert Pettifer, who was a member of the Department from 1972 until his retirement due to ill-health in 2007.

The 2017/18 prizewinner is Guy Moss, who receives a copy of the Feynman Lectures on Physics. The prize was presented by Robert's wife, Mary, and daughter, Candice, who kindly donated an Amazon voucher to add to the prize.

Fri 30 Nov 2018, 11:40 | Tags: Undergraduates, Awards

New WIHEA Fellow

Congratulations to Michael Pounds, who has been appointed as a fellow of the Warwick International Higher Education Academy from 2018/19.

A WIHEA Fellowship recognises and rewards outstanding achievements in learning and teaching.

Michael joins Gavin Bell as WIHEA representatives from Physics.

Wed 26 Sep 2018, 12:02 | Tags: Feature News, Staff and Department, Awards

Warwick Awards for Teaching Excellence

Congratulations to Mark Newton, who was commended for a WATE 2018, and Daniel Mayoh, who was commended for a WATE PGR.

Thu 28 Jun 2018, 15:26 | Tags: Staff and Department, Awards

University Award for Astronomers

Congratulations to the Astrophysical Transients team of Andrew Levan, Danny Steeghs, Ryan Cutter, Ben Gompertz, Joe Lyman, Sam Oates, Elizabeth Stanway and Krzysztof Ulaczyk as runners-up in the 2018 University Awards, for their detection of electromagnetic light from merging neutron stars, triggered by gravitational wave signals. The team's research has already appeared in 15 papers, enabling the origin of the heaviest elements to be ascertained and providing a new route to measuring the expansion of the Universe.

Thu 24 May 2018, 14:40 | Tags: Staff and Department, Awards

Latest news Newer news Older news