Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Computation in Mathematics and Mathematics in Computation


The theme of this MIR@W Day is methods for rigorous computation within Mathematics and algorithms for reachability and recurrences within Computer Science. One of our goals is to bring researchers from Mathematics and Computer Science together, so that new collaborations can be struck.

In Mathematics, the emphasis of the event is on the rigorous bounds and validated numerics which have applications in many branches of mathematics. In Computer Science, the focus is on algorithmic problems on evaluating and comparing numerical expressions, analysing properties of exponential polynomials and matrix powers, recurrence sequences, etc.

Everyone is welcome to attend.

Time and Location

This one day meeting will take place on the 11th of March 2024. The first talk will start at 11:00 and the last talk will end at 17:30.

The day will start with a coffee at 10:15 in the common room of the Zeeman Building, University of Warwick, Coventry CV4 7AL.


Talks will be given by the following speakers:

There will be an introductions session in the programme to give all participants an opportunity to get to know each other. Lunch will be provided.


10:15-10:50: Coffee (Zeeman, Common Room)
11:05--11:55 Igor Potapov  "Reachability problems in iterative maps and matrix semigroups" (Oculus, OC0.01) - slides
11:55--13:30 Lunch (Zeeman, Common Room)13:30--14:20 Igors Gorbovickis "Critical points of the multipliers" (Zeeman, B3.02) - slides
14:20--14:50 Introductions session14:50--15:30 Coffee (Zeeman, Common Room)15:30--16:20 James Worrell  "On Transcendence of Sturmian and Arnoux-Rauzy Words" (Zeeman, B3.02) - slides16:20--17:10 Andrew Burbanks "Computer-assisted proofs for renormalisation fixed-points" (Zeeman, B3.02) - slides
17:10--17:20 Closing

Everyone is welcome to attend.


The abstracts of the talks can be found here.


For travelling to the University of Warwick please see this link.

Local organizers:

Dmitry Chistikov (Computer Science)

Mark Pollicott (Mathematics)

Julia Slipantschuk (Mathematics)