Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Congratulations Class of 2021!


Our 2021 Virtual Graduation Ceremony took place on 9 July, celebrating the fantastic achievements of our MB ChB students.

Our graduates recited the Declaration of Geneva and special prizes were awarded to those who had excelled during their time at Warwick. Take a look at the recording of the event below. As well as coming together for a virtual celebration, some of our graduates have recorded a video of themselves reading the Declaration of Geneva on our Flipgrid page (Click on 'Enter your guest password' and enter warwickgrad21).

Congratulations to all our new graduates!


We are so incredibly proud of everyone's achievements throughout their time here at Warwick Medical School. Each year we award prizes to our graduates have performed exceptionally during the course - either academically or by best representing our values. Congratulations to all of this year's winners.

Essay Prize

Dr Anna Wilson

Anna was awarded for an incredibly high impact piece of writing on sexual violence in the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

Runner up:
Dr Hannah Blades, for a spotlight on elective surgery delays due to the pandemic.

Dr Jo Gao, for a spotlight on Hikikomori

Dr Lily Applebee, for consideration of the Covid response impacts on indigenous populations in Brazil.

Henry Parsey Psychiatry Prize

Dr Rebecca Hui

This prize was converted to an essay prize this year because of the pandemic, and was awarded Rebecca for demonstrating excellence in Psychiatry through her submission.

Written Exam Prize

Dr Hannah Blades

Awarded to the student with the best overall performance in the Phase 3 written examinations

Commendation: Dr Joseph Phillips

Clinical Prize

Join winners: Dr Jack Beeson and Dr Joseph Phillips

Awarded to the student with the highest total mark for the Phase 3 clinical examination.

Harjinder Singh Prize

Dr Joseph Phillips

Awarded to the student who had the highest total percentage for written and clinical examinations.

Pro Dean Education Prize

Joint winners: Dr Joseph Phillips and Dr Ollie Burton

Joseph is recognised for his exceptional contribution in the arena of pre-hospital medicine, enabling others through sharing of own knowledge and skill and developing some exceptional high fidelity simulation learning events.

Ollie is awarded for his education work in the arena of clinical skills teaching, including the development of his YouTube channel to support a wide reaching population with online resources. He has also developed a strong portfolio of widening participation work and taken part in an Association of Medical Educators internship.

The Pridgeon Research Prize

Dr Jean Pierre Laake

This award is chosen by evaluation of a portfolio of evidence of research activity, outputs and work to enable others to develop research skills.

Jean Pierre is recognised for a portfolio including eight publications, including a first author RCT in the BJGP, a commissioned editorial, numerous presentations and external prizes.

Commendations: Dr Adrian McGrath, Dr Jean-Pierre Laake and Dr Andrew Gadie

Our commendations recognise the incredible work undertaken on INSPIRE, a programme designed to encourage medical, dental and veterinary undergraduates with research.

The Yvonne Carter Memorial Prize

Dr Ire Soda

Awarded to the student who has excelled at a discipline outside of their medical studies.

Ire is awarded in recognition of her significant work achieved in relation to promotion of issues around discrimination, fairness and equity for black people living in the UK and especially in our immediate local region. Her approaches are inclusive and fully embrace critical concepts of community engagement if we are to achieve lasting change at societal level.

Warwick Doctor Awards

These awards are presented to the students who, in the opinion of their peers, best represent our Warwick Doctor values: Kindness, Support for Others, Humility, Innovation & Creativity, and Integrity.


Dr Yasmin Omar

Highly Commended:

Dr Branagh Crealock-Ashurst

Dr Joanna Gao

Support with others

Dr Paramdeep Duggal

Highly Commended:

Dr Emma Winterson

Dr Matthew Batten


Dr Georgia Gray

Highly Commended:

Dr Adrian McGrath

Dr Kate Kinnear

Innovation and Creativity

Dr Oliver Burton

Highly Commended:

Creativity: Dr Rebecca Hui and Dr Jen Paxton
Innovation: Dr Liz Burns


Dr Catherine Evans

Highly Commended

Dr Chris Stillman

Dr Cyra Asher